We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Braddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Braddon Hall Hotel
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and I have stayed here twice over the past couple of years. It is a little pricey for us but would certainly stay again. If you can request the largest room, I would recommend doing so as the second time we stayed, we were slightly disappointed with getting a smaller room. There is plenty of space in the rooms, the beds are a decent size (two singles pushed together), lovely colour theme and nice clean bathrooms.The couple that run it are very nice, breakfast is great! The location is perfect as only a short walk to the main shops. The hotel drive is a bit difficult on your first attempts but the owners happily guide you in and out if required.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraloo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    50
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
130
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Started for one night, lovely room very clean and very comfy bed :-) breakfast good apart from my sausage which was raw in the middle :-( otherwise very nice, ideal location and brilliant pubs especially the hole in the wall which was lovely would definitely stay there again :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckiebootross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braddon123, Owner at Braddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for a lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay and would return. I am so sorry to hear about your raw sausage, I can not understand why you would of had a raw sausage served as all the sausages are cooked in the oven and the reading on the probe is between 90-99 which is way above what they should be so I know they should be well cooked also 1 is always cut open to be checked.. I wish you had highlighted this at the time to Wayne as we would rather know straight away. I appreciate your feed back on this. We really look forward to return and hopefully we will fulfil everything for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is our 4th stay and everytime has been consistently good. Rooms are modern and clean. Breakfast is lovely and the owners are great! We have stayed in many hotels in Torquay and braddon hall is definitely the best. We shall definately be back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hank1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and were not disappointed on either occasion ,Debbie and Wayne are fabulous hosts very friendly,we were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived .Nothing is too much trouble for them ,rooms are airy clean and the beds very comfy,good choice of breakfast available all freshly cooked ,we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyADavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for one night and had a pleasant experience. The room was clean and had complimentary tea/coffee/hot cocolate and biscuits, and toiletries were also provided. The owners were friendly and very helpful, and we enjoyed a tasty full english breakfast in the light and airy dining room. The only negative was negotiating the steep drive on arrival, but that's no reflection on the overall experience. It only took 5 minutes to walk down hill to the town centre, so it's very convenient too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeohoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, and everything was exceptional. The owners Wayne and Debbie bend over backwards to make every aspect of your stay as pleasant and helpful as possible. They were so kind in helping us with where to go for the best restaurant meals and attractions in the area, and providing special discount vouchers for us to save money at most places we went to! Nothing was too much trouble!! The owners here really go the extra mile. Also the hotel is in an excellent location just a 2 minute walk to town and some of the best restaurants in torquay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

when we arrived parking at hotel was very difficult. Went into reception and noticed a musky smell. Went up to room it was very small. Headboard on bed was taped together with tape. Hair on bedding Room generally not very clean. Asked to be moved to another room which they did but at an additional cost of 70 pounds in cash. The room was bigger went to bed that night and found the matress was collapsed on one side which over one night gave me severe back pains. The following night we folded the bed throw and put on collapsed side of bed which made no difference. Cut short our holiday. As leaving saw owners told them about matress and room. They said they would move us again put a that point we just wanted to leave. They gave us back our 70 pounds but offered us no additional refund or apology and said that they had no idea that the matress was in that condition but refused to take me up on my offer to go to the room and inspect the matress with me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braddon123, Owner at Braddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I would like to thank the guest for taking the trouble to post such a detailed review. However, there are a few points I would like to raise. Firstly, the guests booked our smallest room for £45 per night. This rate was for two people and included breakfast, VAT and commission paid to Booking.com. It is a compact room and we make that clear at all times.

We did agree to move the guests when they asked for a bigger room and the room we offered was more expensive hence the extra charge. The guests did not then raise any issues about the room afterwards. I only saw them as they were exiting the hotel. They mentioned the mattress then but I didn’t demand that they showed me as I did not want them to feel that I was questioning what they were saying. The guest was forceful to the point of annoyed and made very personal remarks about the car I drove, the point of which I didn’t fully understand. I should mention at this point that the weather had been quite poor and I have a nagging suspicion that this had a great deal to do with their desire to leave early; picking holes in the hotel was a very effective way of ensuring a refund which otherwise would not have been forthcoming.
We try are upmost to please and the mattress which is a pocket sprung ,if this had been their problem could of been changed or a new room given but was not told about any of this until leaving .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#41 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braddon Hall Hotel

Property: Braddon Hall Hotel
Address: 70 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Braddon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Braddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braddon Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing