We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”
Review of Braddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Braddon Hall Hotel
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly hosts,nothing is too much trouble. Very good value for money,excellent breakfast(high quality ingredients and well cooked) and perfect location for Torquay and surrounding points of interest. The building has character,just like the owners! I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cru22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    52
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
131
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked direct with the hotel who were very helpful at the time of booking. On arrival we were met by Wayne who was a fountain of knowledge.. Our room was lovely ( number 3 ) which faced the front of the hotel. Huge bed which was one of the comfiest we have ever slept in. The room was spotless and was furnished to a very high standard. Breakfast was really lovely. We met Debbie on the 2nd morning who cooked our breakfast. A lovely couple who took pride in what was not only a hotel but their home aswell. Will definitely return. Top Tip - leave the car at the hotel and get a day ticket on the bus if you are visiting Brixham, Paignton etc as parking seems to be 2 hrs or very expensive - thanks Wayne for this advise!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareL8411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Upon arrival, parking at the hotel was extremely difficult, due to a steep/uneven drive and very little room to manoeuvre. Staying in Torquay for a family wedding, upon booking, we discussed the reason for our visit and proceeded with the booking over the phone, they advised the receipt would be posted - 3 weeks later we then had to ring to request the receipt, which still hadn't arrived. At this point we asked Deborah if there was a possibility of early check-in due to the distance we were travelling and the wedding being at 1pm, we weren't told of the early check-in policy (available to view online) at an extra charge of £15 until we arrived (which we would have gladly paid and considering we booked over the phone we weren't to know) however she said she would do her best. Arrived at approximately 12noon to a less than friendly and somewhat rude welcome from Wayne abruptly saying we were too early, explained the situation yet again, we were told the rooms were not guaranteed to be ready for us and not to "shoot the messenger". In the event the rooms were ready for us and we felt his attitude was completely unnecessary and out of order. Considering he is front of house for a small hotel he needs to polish up his people skills considerably.

Credit to Deborah, the rooms were clean (apart from a few grubby marks on one set of bed linen in the twin room), bathroom was extremely small but adequate and the full English breakfast was very lovely (continental also available) pleasantly surprised they were able to accommodate a dietary requirement of Soya milk.

Good location close to the harbour and local restaurants. £137.00 for 1 x double room and 1 x twin room - a fair price. We wouldn't stay again and would we recommend it...? Well people take their chances.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Heva1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have spent a lot of time at this hotel staying every weekend in March, April and beginning of May.
The hospitality from the owners is outstanding. Very friendly and very helpful. Anything you want to know about the area and days out.
Rooms are comfortable with very comfortable beds.
The hotel is keep at a high cleanliness standard.
Breakfast is excellent. They will mix and match the cooked breakfast to your taste.
They even catered for me when I had to get up and leave at 0530 hours by leaving milk, cereal, yogurts and fruit out so I could help myself.
I can not rate this high enough as they really looked after me when I stayed with them. Even helping me with advise about the local area and contacts for my move to the area.
The location is perfect for the harbour and main bus route into Torquay (although you can walk it in under 10 minutes) where you can get buses to Brixham and Paignton or the surrounding area. There is a ferry to Brixham in the harbour also and it's only a pound.
You can even walk to Babbacombe or St Marychurch or get the local bus and visit those areas from the Hotel.
Overall this is a truly outstanding hotel to stay in as it has everything. Not like some corporate hotels where the rooms are clean and airy but have no character or the staff are just a front and have no soul.
This hotel has character and the owners and staff make you feel really welcome.
Top notch stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is our second time at Braddon Hall, first time was our honeymoon back in 2010, this time our anniversary. Very good service, very warm welcome. Rooms perfect. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Short walk to the harbour and town centre. Will return.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the honeymoon suite with the four poster bed and this time we had the superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lex1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Going home tmw, if not for work we would stay longer! Torquay is beautiful ! But best part of our stay was being here at braddon hall, thanks to Wayne who was so down to earth and really helpful! We felt he couldn't do enough for us, even putting my husbands beer in our room while we were out! Don't Hesitate in booking here. Excellent value for money. Thank you so much both of you. You should of won 4 in a bed! Ady & Bon xxx

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 wonderful nights here for our honeymoon. The owners are lovely and cannot do enough to make your stay wonderful. The housekeeping and waitress staff are also very nice. Our room was clean and tidy with a lovely 4 poster bed. Breakfast was beautiful with a large selections of cereals and buffet and a big selection of cooked. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the town and was a very good centralised location for our trips around Torquay and the surrounding areas.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braddon Hall Hotel

Property: Braddon Hall Hotel
Address: 70 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#22 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Braddon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Braddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braddon Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing