We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Ravenswood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravenswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravenswood Hotel
Ranked #37 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Ravenswood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived a bit early and our bags were taken to our room whilst we parked the car. Very very friendly lady who couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely clean (if a bit small) room, nice little touches, comfortable bed, utterly perfect breakfast. We've stayed in Torquay many many times for the weekend and this has to be one of the best places to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Kathy and I thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed yourselves, we hope you will use us again in the future should you decide to have another break on the English Riviera
Regards Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
113
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just got home after a wonderful stay at the ravenswood from start to the end of are stay nothing was to much room was spotless and the breakfast was out of this world so good we booked a week in sept on leaving

Room Tip: A must book hotel in torquey
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Manager at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Kathy and I thank you for your lovely review. We try to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible and would like to thank you for booking a week with us later in the year. See you when the sun is shining.
Regards Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and comfortable and we had a smashing breakfast - hot and tasty. My husband and I eat very different things as I am vegetarian and he is not, but nothing was too much trouble and all served in a comfortable, fresh dining room. The owners took over a couple of years ago and have recarpeted throughout and are continually upgrading. Great little place where personal service really matters. We would definitely stay again. Eda

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Kathy and I thank you for your lovely review. We try to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible. We hope you stay again should you be in the area.
Regards Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretonhampstead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Second time staying following night out at theatre . Warm welcome spotless room and fab breakfast in a really convenient location . This place is a real gem. Thank you again love from linda and mike xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you Linda and Mike for your lovely review. We are so happy you decided to stay with us again and hope to see you again when you next come to Torquay for the theatre.
regards
Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for just one night and the reviews are true. Welcoming hosts, lovely clean rooms and great breatfast. What more could you ask for. Location is great - near to restaurants and pubs and a 5 minute walk to the harbour and seafront. Made to feel very welcome Great value for money. Would definitely recommend and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Kathy and I thank you for your lovely review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you again should you come to Torquay in the future.
regards
Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We needed a hotel for the night to attend a funeral service & having researched tripadvisor and studied the reviews we picked the Ravenswood Hotel. Regarding the hotel, all that's been said before is true. A lovely, homely & pleasant hotel situated in a lovely location which was ideal for where we needed to be. Our flights were delayed in getting into the UK, and I know we kept our hosts up vey late, arriving at the hotel at approximately 11:45pm. But we were met by Ashley in a most pleasant & helpfull manner. We found the rooms, though not the largest rooms we ever stayed in, were perfect & snug in every way. The hotel is spotless. It's comfortable, it's like a home from home. The cooked breakfast was substantial and was served a little earlier than normal to accomodate us having to leave for the service we were there to attend. Ashley had printed off the AA route planner giving us precise details as to how get to where we needed. The personal touch at the top level. It was a short stay but perhaps we will get the opportunity to stay here again and enjoy the hospitality in full.

Room Tip: Any room will do but the front rooms overlook a beautiful park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you Tom for your lovely comments. We try to ensure our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay here and to go the extra mile.
It would be great to see you again sometime soon under happier circumstances and we thank you for taking the time to leave to leave a review for others.
Kindest regards
Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here just for the 1 night earlier this month, and booked a further stay in March before we left, due to how great it was.
The rooms, breakfast room, reception, are all beautifully decorated, to a high standard. We couldn't believe that we had only paid £49 for the room, it could certainly command a higher price, which obviously would be to our disadvantage, but can not remember ever getting such great value for money.
And Kathy & Ashley, the owners, what a great couple, so genuine in their approach, so relaxed, really nice people. They definitely make a huge contribution to stays at the Ravenswood. They have really put a lot of effort into making this hotel work, and it does work too.
Breakfast was great, felt a bit guilty as we couldn't actually finish the cooked breakfast.
Location is really good, minutes to the harbour, shops, pubs, restaurants.
Parking was easy.
Looking forward to returning in March.
Could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Cathy, thanks so much for leaving us such a fantastic review.
We are so pleased that you had such a great stay with us and that you booked to come again while you were here!
It's wonderful to get such great feedback as we are relatively new to the business and want to offer our customers something a little bit different and a really comfortable stay.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon,
Kind regards
Kathy & Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tusker Lodge Guest House
Tusker Lodge Guest House
#43 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood Hotel

Property: Ravenswood Hotel
Address: 535 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ravenswood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley and Kathy welcome you to the Ravenswood Hotel, centrally located only 400 metres from Torquay harbour and town centre. We are a B&B hotel, offering clean, good value, non-smoking accommodation, plus an excellent breakfast, served in the dining room, with views over Torwood Gardens. The location of the Ravenswood Hotel is very central, being adjacent to Torquay Museum and on the Agatha Christie Mile. A short walk of 400 metres takes you to the harbour, with its boats, restaurants, shops and Pavilion, or to the central shopping area in Fleet Street and Torquay's nightlife and theatres. Also within a 400 metre radius are over 30 pubs, cafes and restaurants, so you will be spoilt for choice when selecting something to eat. Torquay's blue flag award beaches are but a short walk away, and for the energetic, the south west coast path is a great place to walk and take in the scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ravenswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenswood Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing