We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round!”
Review of Ravenswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravenswood Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks whilst working away and it was an absolute pleasure to be here. The breakfast was to die for and the accommodation was very clean ans spacious. I would recommend
this place to anyone visiting Torquay. The hosts were very welcoming and made you feel at home. They tendered to all your needs.

An excellent place to stay if you go to Torquay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for your review Kathy and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
122
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ravenswood is a real gem. Would recommend to anyone. We had a wonderful weekend stay in this super hotel. Ashley and Kathy were perfect hosts, the room was lovely and the breakfast just perfect. It is in a great location too. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Sharon. Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. We hope to accommodate you in the future on your next break in Torquay
Regards
Kathy and Ashey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We arrived a little later than expected but were still given a friendy welcome as soon as we arrived and assistance with bags to our room which was full of homely touches, as it was Easter we had chocolate Easter bunnies in the room, very thoughtful. The bed was comfortable, slept well then lovely breakfast consisting of local produce cooked by Cathy, also a range of teas, toast and cereals with an Easter egg each on our breakfast table as well. Even borrowed an umberella when it rained for a walk to Kents Caverns and Babbacombe got the bus back though, bed was made and room cleaned whilst we were out. Ravenswood is ideally placed to easily access Torbay, has good parking, is good value and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, General Manager at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Kathy and I are so glad you enjoyed your mini break. Thank you for choosing The Ravenswood we look forward to seeing you again hopefully with the sun shining.
kindest regards Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just come back from Ravenswood Hotel and had a fantastic time. The owners Kathy and Ashley can not do enough for you they are lovely. We turned up early and the rooms were ready, so we checked in early. The rooms are immaculate and smelt wonderful. We have never stay in a place that is this clean, the room was plenty big enough and it had everything you needed. The shower room and toilet was very clean too. Breakfast was really good and very hot. When we left we asked if the car needed moving and Kathy said you can leave it all day parked at the rear,as there was no rooms being used that night, we thought that was nice as they could have made us move. Kathy and Ashley were fantastic hosts and we we be definitely be returning soon. The hotel is walking distance to everything and there are lots of restaurants to eat in. Fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 in the front lovely view of the park opposite, very quite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbott3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much Tina for taking time to leave us a lovely review. We try really hard to be accommodating, and are pleased when it is appreciated! It's brilliant for someone to say we are so clean, as we said you never quite know before you arrive in a new place! Ashley prides himself on a good breakfast, so glad you all enjoyed it. Thanks again, see you soon we hope.
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Upon arrival in the rain we had our bags taken inside to our room. Greated by Ashley and kath in reception area who helped me and my son settle in. Room was perfect for me and my son a double bed and a single bed in a seperate room adjoining mine for him. spottlessly clean and a lovely cooked breakfast the next morning to set us up before my son went bowling in a competition later that morning. recommended this hotel to all our bowling colleagues as they had a bad experience in where they stayed. we will book again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was great to meet you both. We are really pleased that we had everything you needed here, even though it was a short stay. Hopefully we'll see you next time Jordan is bowling down here! The family room is perfect for older children, they love that they don't have to be in the same room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just got back this morning from an absolutely perfect weekend, this was enhanced by the stay we had at the Ravenswood. We were late setting off on Friday and on our travels down got a courtesy call from Ashley and Kath to ask if all was ok and if we were still coming, which we thought was nice. On arrival we were greeted by a wonderful pleasant cheerful couple Ashley & Kath and a spotless hotel our room was lovely. fitted out with good solid quality furniture and a lovely shower and bathroom. we had a room over the main road and when you closed the window you couldn't hear any traffic The bed was so comfy and I sometimes struggle to sleep but not a problem in fact on Saturday slept a bit to long. Really felt so welcome from the first minute. Situated in a great position for getting around Torquay. Breakfast was lovely well cooked and plenty of cereal and tea/coffee. fresh juices and jams marmalade's etc. We go to Torquay a lot and now we have found the Ravenswood wont stay anywhere else. would DEFINATLEY recommend staying here.

Ashley & Kath many many thanks for making our weekend such a joy and it was an absolute pleasure meeting you both we wish you all the success you both richly deserve for all your hard work and dedication.

Tony and Dawn, Taunton, somerset

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuteam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you Tony for your lovely review. Kathy and I are so glad you enjoyed your mini break and we look forward to seeing you again when you need a bit of relaxation time again.
kindest regards
Ashley and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at Ravenswood whilst travelling around the UK for a few weeks. The service, atmosphere and rooms were really fantastic...if it wasn't for time constraints, we would have stayed a little longer. The hosts were welcoming and even helped with our bags, there was handy parking out the back instead of walking for miles with our bags, the room decor was just lovely, the bed was the comfiest we've had on the trip, you could walk down the road in a few minutes for dinner, and we had a great breaky in the morning. We would certainly go there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CelWillmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Ben and Celestine . Thanks for your great review, hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around the UK and Europe. If you are passing this way again on your travels we would love to see you back at the Ravenswood again.
Have a great time.
Regards Kathy and Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 87 in Torquay
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hudson Hotel
Hudson Hotel
#62 of 87 in Torquay
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood Hotel

Property: Ravenswood Hotel
Address: 535 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ravenswood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley and Kathy welcome you to the Ravenswood Hotel, centrally located only 400 metres from Torquay harbour and town centre. We are a B&B hotel, offering clean, good value, non-smoking accommodation, plus an excellent breakfast, served in the dining room, with views over Torwood Gardens. The location of the Ravenswood Hotel is very central, being adjacent to Torquay Museum and on the Agatha Christie Mile. A short walk of 400 metres takes you to the harbour, with its boats, restaurants, shops and Pavilion, or to the central shopping area in Fleet Street and Torquay's nightlife and theatres. Also within a 400 metre radius are over 30 pubs, cafes and restaurants, so you will be spoilt for choice when selecting something to eat. Torquay's blue flag award beaches are but a short walk away, and for the energetic, the south west coast path is a great place to walk and take in the scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ravenswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenswood Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing