We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Coming Back To”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth Coming Back To”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had stayed here a couple of years ago and I'm not sure why we hadn't been back sooner.
The place - Everywhere is well presented and the rooms are of a high standard. Outside there is a lovely garden with patio furniture to relax on and have a beer at the end of a hard day sight seeing. The sizeable car park to the front of the house means no worrying about where you've left the car and, if you go out for the day, no stressing about finding somewhere to park when you get back.
The location - Only a short walk form the quayside, but as with most places in Torquay that short walk is uphill (it's fairly steep but not too far, or under £5 for a taxi)
The people - On arrival Chris was Friendly and helpful (just as we'd remembered) and he had plenty of good advice to offer on things to do/see or places to eat. Jean looks after everyone at breakfast and does it with great ease, she's friendly, professional and very organised.
We wanted a relaxing Easter break and that's exactly what we got.
We'll be going back again soon

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike_Jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    135
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
716
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed here over the Easter weekend with my parents. From the hotel's own website and reviews on Tripadvisor, I was very pleased to find the Haytor exactly as I expected. The boutique style, along with a very warm welcome, plus the excellent breakfast, made the weekend in Torquay very enjoyable. The hotel does not serve evening meals but there's a large selection of restaurants nearby so there was no issue there. The rooms were very well presented, clean and tastefully decorated. The standard rooms are arguably slightly small but for the price and quality I found this more than acceptable.

Free wifi was also very useful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank movilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penarth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

On arrival we were greeted by Chris, who gave us a warm welcome. We were very pleased with the high standard of the room. The following morning we were greeted by Jean who was warm, welcoming and above all efficient but not intusive. Jean took an interest in what we were looking for on our break and nothing was too much trouble.

We would most definately use this hotel if we were in the area again. Chris definately has an eye for detail in this wonderful hotel, and most importantly his clientel.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmtyisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Really nice hotel. Quiet road not far from the Quay and close to a great restaurant too - The Orange tree. Breakfast excellent, and room really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bridget72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Superb hosts, greeted on arrival and hot drinks provided. Wonderful breakfasts served by lovely lady. Room was superb with enormous bed, really comfy. Only criticism was there was no bath in bathroom, only a shower. This did not spoil our stay in any way. Would certainly recommend the Haytor to family and friends and we will certainly go back if we visit Torquay in the future.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room which had the larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annesharp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed 5 nights in April and really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and the decor was modern/tasteful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is handy for the town centre/marina and also Meadfoot beach. The hotel has a bar and beautiful garden.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank littlemisssunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2011

we stayed in this hotel for my husbands 50th birthday. It was excellent!. The bedroom had a super king sized bed and was very tastefully decorated - some lovely local art pieces. The service was also excellent and everyone was very friendly. It was definately worth paying a bit more for the premier bedroom - go on spoil yourself! restaurants and harbour within walking distance ( although quite a steep hill coming back to hotel ).

Room Tip: go for the premier king size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahbaldwin795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#3 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing