We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation in Torqay”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best accommodation in Torqay”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I travel weekly to Torqay on business and normally stay in the large chain type hotels who tent to be dated and tired to say the list. The Haytor is lovely, clean, comfortable and located close to the harbour. If it had the gym and pool facilities I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yianni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    135
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
716
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

A charming hotel in the centre of Torquay. Service was super attentive and breakfast was delicious. Room was tastefully decorated and the bed lovely and comfy. All in all, a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lavender_RoseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

From our first introduction to us leaving we couldn't fault this Hotel in any way. Chris the proprietor was fantastic and was a great help throughout. We will be going back. Thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stevo006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

First impression, lovely garden. We were welcomed at the door by Chris and the standard was set which was entirely lived up to. It was like being at home. The bedroom was very tastefully furnished and spotless. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and really tasty, served up by Jean and Chris. The location was convenient and only 10 minutes from the harbour. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JerseyRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This was our second visit to the Haytor- nothing has changed,still a warm welcome, exceptional good big breakfast & very clean hotel & room.
quiet location with a tidy garden with room to sit outside.
this will not be our last visit- the weather did help thid time!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank welltravelled5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

A lovely hotel with very helpful owner/manager who was first class at making my stay successful

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GeraintJeffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had stayed here a couple of years ago and I'm not sure why we hadn't been back sooner.
The place - Everywhere is well presented and the rooms are of a high standard. Outside there is a lovely garden with patio furniture to relax on and have a beer at the end of a hard day sight seeing. The sizeable car park to the front of the house means no worrying about where you've left the car and, if you go out for the day, no stressing about finding somewhere to park when you get back.
The location - Only a short walk form the quayside, but as with most places in Torquay that short walk is uphill (it's fairly steep but not too far, or under £5 for a taxi)
The people - On arrival Chris was Friendly and helpful (just as we'd remembered) and he had plenty of good advice to offer on things to do/see or places to eat. Jean looks after everyone at breakfast and does it with great ease, she's friendly, professional and very organised.
We wanted a relaxing Easter break and that's exactly what we got.
We'll be going back again soon

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike_Jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing