We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful holiday, we will recommend this hotel to all our friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful holiday, we will recommend this hotel to all our friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent two weeks in Torquay staying at the Haytor Hotel which I chose from its marvelous reviews on trip adviser.

We weren't disappointed. The hotel was everything we had hoped for (and more). The staff were wonderful, the rooms beautifully decorated and clean and the breakfast was the best we have ever had in a hotel.

We would recommend this hotel to all our friends. We had a lovely relaxing stay - a big thank you to Chris, Robert and Jean for looking after us so well.

Judy and Bill
Pudsey
Leeds.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikonJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    134
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
707
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I prefer self-catering to hotels but I got an unexpected few days off and went back to the Haytor. Chris, the owner made me feel at home, and had lots of information about where to eat, places to visit etc.
My room was really nice, very tranquil and peaceful. And I’d forgotten about the breakfasts! Very generous and accommodating for this vegetarian. And the whole place is spotless.
There was one change – the garden looks lovely and it was a joy to have my tea on the elegant terrace and watch the ducks waddling about the garden! It’s also in a good location, far enough from the seafront to be peaceful and relaxing, but near enough to walk down (about 5 minutes) to get to the shops and cafes.

The perfect place for a break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonArabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Well situated Hotel, 10 minute walk to main area.
Hotel spotless, the breakfast was exceptional ( local fresh produce).
Staff really friendly and helpful, the room was maintained to a high standard, would certainly recommend anyone to try staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevetoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is located close to the city centre, has a lovely garden and a corresponding parking lot. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was quite good. However, our dobbel room was dissapointing. It was somewhat small and extreamly badly lit, the bathroom was also small and primitive. Our room was clean, but the staff were not able to clean our room when we were out between 09.30 - 16.00 one of the days. All in all our impression of this hotel is average - and nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JillAndRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisnRob, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to provide feedback. The room booked was a standard double room with ensuite shower. I am somewhat confused as to 2 of the negative points he has raised. He claims the room is badly lit but there is in fact a ceiling light with 4 bulbs and 2 bedside lamps all of which are in working condition which is more than adequate for this room. Secondly, the 'primitive' bathroom. Again i'm not quiet sure what this means as the room was refurbished with a very modern shower, sink and toilet in January 2011. Finally, on the day his room was not finished by the time he had returned at 4.00 I take full responsibilty for. Unfortunately, and for the first time in 4 years, we had a member of staff who was taken ill therefore we did get behind on refreshing his room and for that I send my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a great stay at the Haytor greeted by chris the owner which we thought was a lovey touch, The rooms are very nice & clean . The breakfast are cooked lovely & served by Our favorite member of staff Jean who knows just how to fill ya boots, and we would come back. Sue & Charlie Lomax

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hackne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Very welcoming and friendly hotel. It has a Breakfast room and lounge area with a bar. All public areas are tastefully furnished and very clean. The hotel has very pretty and peaceful gardens at the front. Parking available, free of charge.
The hotel is situated on a slightly steep hill under 5 minutes walk from the harbour and town centre. Lovely restaurants within a very short walking distance. Chris recommended some great restaurants locally and some slightly further afield and well worth the car journey. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are slightly bigger. Rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished with lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steelmen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I booked the Haytor for a short break for our 25th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The Haytor is perfect in every way from the beautifully decorated rooms and surroundings to the helpful and cheerful staff. Each morning we were offered a scrumptious English breakfast with a choice of egg! My husband had the duck egg two mornings which are laid by the resident ducks in the grounds of the hotel. The proprietors are always on hand to offer good comprensive advice from which restaurant to book to which local site to visit. You can also enjoy a drink on the terrace of the hotel overlooking the stunning gardens. The Haytor will not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn_townley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing