We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Hotel for weekend group booking excellent”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nether Heyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Welcoming Hotel for weekend group booking excellent”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I booked 5 double rooms for a weekend gathering, for two nights (Sat & Sun) rooms were faultless, service excellent & surroundings brilliant. Highly recommended to all

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
728
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We,ve stayed at the Haytor about 7 times (3 with the present owners). The hotel is located in a convenient and quiet part of Torquay a few minutes from the harbour. It is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and comfortable. There is a variety of types of rooms at different prices to choose from. The owners are very welcoming and efficient. If the weather allows, it is a joy to sit in the splended landscaped garden overlooking the duck pond and duck house and enjoy a glass of wine! Car parking is easy and plentiful. Roll on our next visit!
Keith & Anita Davies, Swansea

Room Tip: None of the rooms is noisy. The more you pay, the bigger the room. All are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

had a really enjoyable two days based at the Haytor Hotel - Chris and the rest of the staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the accommodation and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I was there just for the night, but it is a lovely little hotel with friendly staff. The room was comfortable and modern and the gardens were pleasant although it was raining during my stay! The breakfast was excellent. The only small issue was the sloping ceiling in the bathroom meant there wasn't a proper show in the bedroom which meant a couple of baths instead. However, I am sure you could ask the question beforehand. A nice place and a hotel well positioned for a stoll into Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

the hotel was emaculate it is beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
Breakfast had a great choice something for everyone and the service was fantastic nothing was to much trouble.
The owners have a great knowledge
Of the best places to eat and places to see
We really could not of asked for anything more and would recommend the Haytor to anyone looking for comfort,relaxation and excellent value

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luppiluo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

very friendly staff and very clean room the breakfast was cooked to perfection the short walk to town was just right torquay is such a lovely part of devon we will be back next year with our two boys we would recommend the haytor hotel to friends and family thank you for such a lovely stay we could of stayed longer

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I always read reviews carefully before I book a hotel. Every review for this hotel was very good, almost too good to be true, I wondered.
However, we were not at all disssapointed. Our room was lovely.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and very tastefully furnished.
If your'e looking for somewhere very quiet to stay but close to the town centre, then this is the perfect place.
The breakfast room is bright and spacious and the service is the most efficient I have ever experienced. The full english breakfast was cooked to perfection and the lady who served us was a credit to the hotel.
A very warm welcome on arrival and a very relaxing atmosphere.
We only stayed one night but would have loved to have stayed longer.
Believe the reviews, they are all true!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,759 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing