We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small, professionally operated hotel in central location”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely small, professionally operated hotel in central location”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed at hotel for one night. We were welcomed by Chris, and were efficiently told the procedures for security, breakfast and room service. Chris was extremely friendly and was always helpful and even let us use the car park on our check out day until 2.00pm. Double room was decorated and had all the expected facilities apart from the missing hairdryer that was listed as standard on the website. Really nice tv, large wardrobe, comfy bed and bath with attached shower. Breakfast was great and perfectly cooked with good service. Negative: old, bitty sheets on the bed and hairs found on the bed, urgh.

Overall: really, really nice hotel situated within a 2 minute to the harbour and shops with nice management and impressive rooms. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swhitehead92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisnRob, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
I would like to thank our guest for taking the time to give us a very favorable review.
Regarding the hairdryer. All of our rooms do have hairdryers as standard. Our chambermaid is very fastidious and if ever there is a hairdryer missing she will inform me and it is immediately replaced. If this guest had just picked up the phone and told us at the time we could have resolved this minor problem. Regarding the bedding, our linens are the highest quality Egyptian cotton and any bedding that it not of the best quality does not get put on the beds but replaced with new. This is the very first time in 4 years we have ever had any issue regarding our bedding and again, a quick call to houekeeping could have solved this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    135
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
716
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We researched hotels in the area for a while. We chose Haytor based on reviews found here. Glad we did. The room clean and tidy. The bathrooms were clean, modern, and kit out with shampoo, conditioner, and soaps. The room and bathroom was slightly small, but not bad at all. We had a top floor room and could see the sea too. Score!
The breakfast was awesome. You could choose from a full breakfast of a roll and eggs. Plus, yogurt, fruit, cereal, and juice were available. If you are hungry, worry not....they will bring you more. And the coffee? French press.:)
The location was not bad at all. We found the other hotel areas and this was much preferred. The only warning is it is up a slight hill so going into town and back multiple times might be challenging for some.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorJayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laneshawbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I have stayed at the Haytor Hotel a number of times as the hotel is in a great location ( only 5 / 10 minutes walk to the town centre, harbour & beaches ) with owners / staff always very helpful with good recommendations of places to eat and visit !! The rooms are well presented and maintained to a high standard the hotel grounds are also well presented with a relaxing seated area and garden, with a spacious parking area. The owners & staff are always easy to talk to and accommodating making staying here always an excellent experience I would recommend to anyone !!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be as equally well presented and have a choice of single to double to kingsize dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We've stayed at this ideally located hotel for a good number of years now, and each time the service has been impeccable and cannot be faulted. Rooms are comfortable and
decorated beautifully. Breakfast is always plentiful. Will be returning in 2011.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nether Heyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I booked 5 double rooms for a weekend gathering, for two nights (Sat & Sun) rooms were faultless, service excellent & surroundings brilliant. Highly recommended to all

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We,ve stayed at the Haytor about 7 times (3 with the present owners). The hotel is located in a convenient and quiet part of Torquay a few minutes from the harbour. It is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and comfortable. There is a variety of types of rooms at different prices to choose from. The owners are very welcoming and efficient. If the weather allows, it is a joy to sit in the splended landscaped garden overlooking the duck pond and duck house and enjoy a glass of wine! Car parking is easy and plentiful. Roll on our next visit!
Keith & Anita Davies, Swansea

Room Tip: None of the rooms is noisy. The more you pay, the bigger the room. All are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

had a really enjoyable two days based at the Haytor Hotel - Chris and the rest of the staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the accommodation and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing