We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Londra
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Warm, friendly atmosphere. Excellent decor, a very good breakfast. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marichka_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
735
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Having read the Trip Advisor reviews for the Haytor Hotel, I booked a three night stay for my husband and I. On our arrival, we were greeted by one of the proprietors who made us feel very welcome and we were immediately impressed at how clean and tastefully decorated the hotel was. Later, whilst strolling around Torquay, we noticed how old fashioned and unclean some of the other hotels appeared and we were very happy to return to the Haytor!!

The breakfast was very tasty and the toast/coffee were readily replenished.

The hotel is perfectly located for both the harbour and town of Torquay, yet occupies a position in a quiet side road which ensures a peaceful nights sleep. Also, if you enjoy walking, the Southwest Coastal paths are easily accessible from the hotel.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Haytor Hotel and we hope to return there, with my parents, next April.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandSC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I decided to visit Torquay as part of our honeymoon and could not have been happier when we pulled in to the drive of The Haytor Hotel. After spending two lovely nights in North Devon we were excited to see what Torquay had to offer. The stunning white Edwardian style house with beautiful landscaped garden was a good start, and when we were greeted by the owner Chris, our suprise continued inside with the tasteful decor and sympathetic renovation works that had been carried out by the current owners.

We were then given the keys to the honeymoon suite. A beautiful four poster room with en-suite facilities and dual aspect views of the surrounding grounds.

Breakfast was terrific with service being swift. Toast and drinks being serverd almost immediatley and frequently.

Just a couple of minutes walk to the town and seafront.

Nothing was too much trouble at The Haytor, with owner Chris being on hand to recommend places to visit and eat out. In particular the seafood restaurant Number 7 is an absolute must for all seafood lovers. ( Just ask Chris!)

We didn't want to leave in truth and would thoroughly recommend if visiting Torquay that you stay at The Haytor I know we will.

Room Tip: Four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Haytor Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble.Location excellent for local shops,restaurants and harbour. Hotel was spotlessly clean and breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Faultless. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We have just had a short three night stay at the Haytor Hotel and have been delighted with our stay. The hotel is beautifully located, tastefully decorated, and spotlessly clean. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were lovely. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have just returned home after a wonderful weekend at the Haytor Hotel. Originally we were only planning to stay for two nights, but extended it to three due to the combination of the wonderful hotel and the superb late September early October weather. Our room was excellant and the breakfasts were great. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfectly located with only a short walk down into the centre of Torquay. It also has the distinct advantage of having a good sized car park with a space for each room. Overall we cannot fault the Haytor Hotel and we will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed for just two nights and would recommend this small but very clean and comfortable hotel nothing was to much trouble and the breakfast was perfect. The garden was charming and a lot of thought had been put into the refurbishment of both the garden and hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,810 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing