We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 October 2012

A lovely house in a residential area, close to town but quiet and easily accessable. Clean, comfortable and friendly. No evening restaurant but breakfast good and lots of restuarants close by. Extremely useful to have a free car park. Would definately return and happy to recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Comfortable/modern very clean rooms. Good decor throughout with nice touches (Jo Malone candles) Excellant breakfast with friendly service. Good location for those wanting to be close to Torquay centre but in a peaceful setting. Everything is well maintained including the grounds.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaqs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just home from yet another great weekend at The Haytor. The friendly welcome from Chris, Rob and Jean guarantees a wonderful relaxing break whilst the hotel with its luxurious furnishings and unique artwork create an atmosphere of sheer indulgence. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra_steward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just had our fourth stay at The Haytor. I think that must say it all. Beautifully maintained, with good taste and a flawless attention to detail. It’s always a pleasure to return. Chris, Rob and Jean always make us feel welcome. It feels like a home from home, a wonderfully relaxing environment. We always listen to their advice in relation to places to eat; they have pointed us in the direction of some brilliant restaurants. Suffice to say when we leave we always know we are going to go back. How often can you say that these days! Keep up the good work guys and don’t change a thing.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

A real gem of a hotel - very clean, lots of little touches of luxury everywhere- we like the fact that the hotel is in a quiet area and as we both love to walk, the short walk down to the shops, marina etc did not bother us - the breakfasts are superb - freshly cooked and of a very high quality.
Our four poster bed was so comfy that we had to force ourselves to get up each morning!
Chris is a very welcoming host and is always on hand if you want anything- we will be back again when we visit Torquay as the Haytor is everything we look for in a hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Beautiful room, Each room was decorated in a different way. The hotel was full of gorgeous furniture and furnishings. I don't think I have ever stayed in a cleaner hotel. Lovely complimentary aromatherapy toiletries. Friendly and helpful greeting and service. Hotel in lovely position in Torquay, quite a walk up hill, so best to be pretty fit.. Breakfast was lovely and very nicely presented.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sancholiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a lovely little hotel which is extremely well-managed. The service and staff are really friendly and helpful and the delightful rooms have absolutely everything in them that you need to have a good, relaxing stay. One thing that I particularly appreciated, now that the days are drawing in, was the gorgeous, warm radiator which reminded me of its presence each time I passed by it. The bed was super comfortable, too. Breakfast was everything a breakfast should be - I particularly enjoyed the fluffy scrambled eggs. I shall certainly stay there again when I next visit Torquay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £88 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing