We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a 4 night stay over the August bank holiday weekend and I cannot fault this hotel.
Our room was extremely clean and lovely, the bed was so comfortable (very hard to get up in the mornings!) The advise given by the owners on local restaurants & attractions was spot on! I highly recommend the costal walk to Babbington, stunning views! Jean at breakfast was brilliant & so friendly. A must stay if visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at the end of August to celebrate my father-in-law's 85th birthday. He was able to have a ground floor room which was perfect as he has decreasing mobility. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the lovely garden. The warm welcome we received from Roger made our long drive worthwhile,and he gave us lots of information and hints and tips. The rooms were very comfortable, decent sized toiletries, and plenty of drawers/wardrobe space. The garden is tranquil, and has a lovely terrace where you can relax and enjoy a drink/bottle and where my husband and I were able to while away some quality time. I like that you can order a bottle of wine and they will keep the half finished bottle in the fridge for you until you wish to return to it. The breakfasts were perfect, beautifully cooked and Jean's service was quick, chatty and personal - she even remembers your preferences after the first day! The comfortable lounge bar was ideal for a coffee and a nightcap after a meal out, and a chance to chat to Roger who knows so much about the area and enjoy his great sense of humour. All in all the hospitality from Roger and Peter was second to none and we would return to Torquay just to stay at the Haytor!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Columbine17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

From the welcome to the hotel to the room, cleanliness, service, Breakfast and overall feel to the hotel was fantastic.
Your 5 mins walk into Torquay.
We even got a phone call on our way down to make sure we were aware of some road works taking place, and they gave us the best route in.
Would recommend the Haytor hotel highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is lovely. It is set in it's own grounds and there is plenty of car parking. Just minutes from the town and bars and restaurants but you feel as though you are miles away. Lovely breakfast in a bright and airy dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollypopsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just returned from a 5 Night Stay at The Haytor Hotel, a perfect location, just a 5 minute walk to The Harbour. Staff couldn't do enough for you, a big thank you to Jean for doing a grand job serving our breakfast & what a lovely cooked breakfast it was with plenty of choice (the Breakfast Room & Garden were delightful). Thank you to Peter & Roger for the information given on arrival with regard to Restaurants, places to visits & Walks.

Our Bedroom (Premium Room) was a good size, spotlessly clean, lovely bedding & what a comfortable bed.

We will definitely recommend to all our Friends & will be staying again.

Room Tip: Room no 7 as there is no-one above or below you and it was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We have just come back form a 3 night stay at the Haytor Hotel. Its is a lovely hotel within a 5 minute walk from the Harbour so is ideally located. The hotel itself is spotless and tastefully decorated. Roger & Peter the owners are really nice and very knowledgeable about the area and places to go & eat etc. The breakfasts are lovely and Jean is a superstar! Nothing is too much trouble and she looks after you well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Myself and my partner extended our weeks trip with a drive to Torquay, staying at 'The Haytor Hotel'. I had such a fantastic time, I would love to visit again.
We had a very warm welcome upon arrival and lots of information for places to go and things to do with restaurant recommendations, advice and vouchers to save money. My partner and I were spoilt for choice with what to do.
Our room was clean and modern with a seaside theme to remind me... I'm on holiday, so relax, which I did! A great nights sleep, a wonderful breakfast- with plenty of choice- both mornings.
Such polite and helpful staff, with a hotel that impresses both inside and around the garden area, I had a very happy holiday indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate88_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,072 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
907 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £89 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing