We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay here. We had a relaxing holiday and our choice of accommodation helped. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and roger seemed to go that extra mile to make our stay even better.i would recommend every time and would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had a lovely short break at the Haytor.
Lovely place , very very nice staff , very clean . Just a short stroll around the corner to the harbour . Nice breakfast and a very nice room . Will defiantly be back her again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Haytor hotel. Lovely grounds and the staff were very friendly. Excellent location and the facilities were very nice. Very clean and a nice breakfast too boot! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our room was superb and spotless. The breakfasts were excellent and were served efficiently and in a friendly manner by the waitress. Hotel about 10 minute walk from harbour so convenient for all local attractions and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Haytor. Beautiful Hotel in Lovely Grounds. Very helpful staff.
Food and accomodation - first class.
We were very lucky with the weather - was so so hot, the only thing that was missing, that would have proved to have been very useful - portable fan in the room, other than that, everthing was
well and truly catered for and would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful Hotel.

Alice and Tom

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for your review and lovely comments.
Sorry to hear you needed a fan, we do have fans available on request (as well as an Iron and Board for some last minute pressing) but don't leave them in each room so the room isn't cluttered when it's not needed.
Thanks again for your review, and hopefully the weather will be as good on your next stay and you can have your fan, and we can earn that 5th blob/dot :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here at the end of July, for 3 nights. We had such a lovely time, the hotel was amazing, very clean and cosy!! The breakfasts were one of the main highlights for us! Peter and Rodger made us feel very welcomed and gave us good ideas of what to do around the area. The bedroom was very comfortable with all the amenities that you needed for your stay! The hotel is in an ideal place with a short walk into Torquay. We would definitely recommend to anyone who wanted a place to stay in Torquay and I'm sure we will be back in the near future!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We only stayed for 1 night but found this hotel great. lovely people who run it, perfect location, plenty of free parking spaces so you can leave your car behind. Great english breakfast and lots of toast. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: I would have liked to see the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon5094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for leaving your review and hopefully you can stay for longer on your next visit and explore the great coastal and country landscape across South Devon, and give us the chance to earn that 5th dot/blob.
As well as the Small and Standard Double room, we also have the more luxurious Superior room which you mention, as well as the Executive which is between the Standard and Superior, and our Premier rooms which are our largest rooms. All the luxury rooms come with King, Superking or Twin beds, and all rooms (including the Small and Standard), come with luxury mattress toppers, Tea/Coffee tray with bottled water, hair drier, flatscreen TV, and Aromatherapy Associates toiletries in the ensuite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £86 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing