We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancs
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

We stayed at The Haytor for our honeymoon. It was a fantastic week and we hope to book again for our 1st anniversary.

The hotel was bright, clean and luxurious.

The owners and staff were a credit. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant, happy to book restaurant tables, taxis etc. They had good local knowledge.

The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice.

The hotels location could not be better, a short walk to the harbour, shops, restaurants, pubs and beach.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    134
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
707
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cas Catala, Spain
Level Contributor
172 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

Stayed at the Haytor Hotel for one night whilst on business in Torquay and it was an excellent choice.

Fantastic location as its just a few minutes walk into town and to the harbour. Easy to find and park.

The bedroom was a good size, very clean with decent bedding and a great LCD TV!

I appreciated the free WIFI in the room as I had lots of work to do!

Breakfast selection was great and very efficiently run.

All in all it is a great little hotel.

  • Liked — All round nice modern room
  • Disliked — Black out curtains would be good and better shower.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

Choose the Haytor hotel for a long weekend away over the Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend based on reviews here at TripAdvisor. Those reviews are not wrong. This is SUCH a nice hotel, recently refurbished, beautifully decorated and near enough to the town for a quick walk, but not so close that the hussle and bussle is there. Greeted by Chris on arrival with a cup of tea/coffee - a really pleasant experience all weekend.

Surprisingly, drinks in the hotel lounge are so reasonably priced that, if the weather is good and you can go onto the terrace, forget going into Torquay for a drink at all. Free wifi throughout most of the hotel was a bonus, as were the flatscreen TVs in the room. If you're looking for a quiet, romantic getaway to the English Coast, the Haytor HAS to be one to consider if you've not been there before. I'll certainly be hoping to go back again.

  • Liked — Everything, couldn't fault anything at all
  • Disliked — Nothing to fault here at all.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dramill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

We have just returned from a 4 day midweek break having stayed at the Haytor Hotel, Torquay. This hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard with a modern theme. The presentation and the cleanliness of the hotel is a credit to the owners who go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfasts are freshly cooked and are as good as, if not better than, the 4 and 5 star hotels we have previously stayed in.

To sum up, a small hotel, convenient for the centre of Torquay and surrounding area providing excellent service and value for money.

  • Liked — Comfort of bedroom
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank torquay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuffer bexleyheath
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

Second visit - my wife and i couldn't wait to return and see how the hotel would look after the winter referbishment. We weren't disappointed,it looks lovely and spotlessly clean. Met by Chris and Rob for a delightful cup of tea and coffee for our registration in the lounge(how nice after a 6 hour journey from Bexleyheath).

Stayed in a superior room - massive and tastefully decorated!

Full English breakfast with cerials and stewed fruits available , which suited my wife who isn't the biggest of eaters .

The lounge provided us with evening drinks which were cheaper than any of the pubs and bars we had tried in the town and Chris was the perfect host too.

As mentioned in most of the other reviews there is plenty of parking and the gardens are lovely with little seating areas all over the place . We kept finding them as we explored the front garden.

Jean , the breakfast waitress , is the font of knowledge for all things local . Not only where to go and what to do but where not to go too.

We shall return again later on in the year - I am glad our friends recommended this hotel it was a real find.

  • Liked — The friendliness - it was like home
  • Disliked — Honestly nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cold_blow_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2008

My wife and I have just completed a 4 night stay at the Haytor. It was a real treat. We were met by owner Chris who settled us in with a welcome cup of tea. The room was excellent, well provisioned, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and offered a good variety. The reason for our stay was that we were in the process of completing on a property in nearby Wellswood and we got some terrific help from waitress Jean about what shops we needed for buying household items. This was our fifth stay in Torquay and we have previously stayed at some very good b & bs. However, the Haytor was one of the best we have ever stayed in and we strongly recommend it. It is maybe a tad dearer than some but the extra is justified by the comittment to excellence shared by Chris and the staff and we would not hesitate to stay again.

On a slightly negative but non Haytor note, Torquay is well served by some excellent quality restaurants. The Orange Tree is our favourite. Getting a moderately priced "family" meal is maybe not so easy although Pizza Express is usually OK. However, we recommend you avoid Hooks at all costs. The food was average but the servers had no idea. Getting the wrong meal and not getting our drinks were just two low points of a very exasberating evening.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pj270744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

We had a long weekend at the Haytor.

The location was excellent the standards of the accomodation were second to none, and we have travelled a lot worldwide!

The owners Chris & Robert have got it all "just right" the rooms were tastefully furnished and the breakfast was perfect.

Anyone wishing to visit this part of Devon could not do any better!

We travelled from Rayleigh in Essex and it was worth every minute of the drive.

Thanks and Good Luck fellas.

Jantuck2004@aol.com

J & K Tucker

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sydarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing