We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Lovely Owners, Lovely Location”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel, Lovely Owners, Lovely Location”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Haytor Hotel from December 27th-31st 2013 and were hugely impressed.

The owners Roger and Peter were really friendly and warm and couldn't do enough for us. They gave us recommendations on local restaurants and attractions, none of which disappointed.

The hotel's location is wonderful as is it up a quiet road so there is little noise, however, it is only a 5 minute walk away from loads of the restaurants/bars and a short drive from many other key places in Torquay. Perfect!

Our room was lovely and comfortable and was cleaned everyday. The decor was great- very stylish. Breakfast was also lovely- we sampled the full english and the porridge and thoroughly enjoyed both.

Should we ever decide to visit Torquay again, we would definitely be happy to have a second visit to The Haytor Hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naomi_Arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your review and we're please we helped make your xmas stay one to remember, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
735
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and warm welcome from the host. Very clean and spacious room, comfy bed, nicely furnished and bottles of water very handy. Usual tea and coffee and some biscuits too. Nice and quiet, good variety of breakfasts on offer, and very flexible (nice and full every morning!). Plenty of local information available, and host very knowledgeable. Lots of restaurants and bars within a stones throw of the hotel, but it's just far enough away from the town to avoid any late night noise. Perfect location to venture out from, easy to pick up the trail of coastal walks, and 5 minutes to the harbour for trips (note: most boat and tourist trips stop at end of October - so we missed them, but plenty of other things to do and see, and eat!).

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your review, packed full of useful information for future guests.
Torquay is a great location to explore Devon, and our location in a conservation area 400m from the harbour means you are close to the town which you can walk down to leaving the car in our carpark or venture our for a coastal walk, or drive out into the moors. For those without transport, the harbour is a key stopping point for a range of bus services including the No12 which serves the whole Bay giving easy access to Paignton and Brixham and other bus services going to the charming village of Cockington and the clifftop resort of Babbacombe. As the reviewer mentioned, in Summer there are also a range of boat trips including trips to Dartmouth and the home of Agatha Christie, and a regular service to Brixham and Paignton.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in December. Very friendly welcome from Peter, we were sat down offered information on the area for food etc which makes a nice change.
Decor throughout was very nice including rooms.
Breakfast was cooked perfectly. Roger was also very friendly amd kept us entertained one evening after returning from a meal.
Overall very nice experience, my only personal opinion to make it better would be to have some background music playing on entrance and also in the bar area of an evening.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodwins_plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
You'll be pleased to hear we now do have the background music in the (residents only) Bar and Lounge, and although its only on quiet so as not to be intrusive (and can be turned off on request for guests who prefer complete quiet) we do agree it makes a difference. Thanks for the suggestion. We're also proud to support the music industry by holding both PRS and PPL licenses for playing music in public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stay at the Haytor Hotel on a regular basis while visiting family in Torquay.Peter and Roger are always excellent hosts, nothing is ever too much trouble. The rooms are always spotless with very comfortable beds and a good breakfast. The location is also perfect with just a five minute walk to the harbour and good restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
It was lovely to see you again and thanks for leaving your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at the Haytor to attend a busness conference, and enjoyed my stay very much. I had the best nights sleep of any hotel I have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and making breakfast earlier than their normal time was no trouble. The room was extremely comfortable and very clean. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely beautiful period property in a lovely location. Lovely lovely hosts Peter & Roger (with the added bonus of meeting Maisey & Coco) thank you all for your hospitality :-)
Thoroughly recommend Haytor Hotel and all the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor are spot on! Really hope to get back again next year........Torquay and the surrounding area is well worth a visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alli231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Haytor whilst at a conference with work. It was very well presented, cosy, friendly staff and good food. Whilst sadly I didn't have time to see how close it was for activities in the area it's clearly close to the sea and the town centre whilst being in a very nice and quieter part of town. The rooms were very nice, lovely bathroom luxuries and teas selection. The stay was fairly priced and worth every penny. Wood recommend to all.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank benjaminjohnelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments.
We hope to see you again, whether it be for business or pleasure, and maybe you'll get the chance to explore the area more and try some of the great eateries nearby, ranging from Traditional chippies to Michelin starred.
We've continued with our program of improvements with new extra large pillows for our King and Superking beds, and luxury mattress toppers on all beds as well as lots of other tweaks around the building and hopefully we can go the extra mile next time and get that 5th ... is it a dot or blob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing