We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a small, mid-priced hotel with the owners in residence. I was visiting family and decided to pay a bit more rather than stay at the budget end of the market.
The extra was easily worth it. The hotel is well presented with an excellent attention to detail. High threadcount sheets, great English breakfast (with emphasis on quality rather than greasy quantity), personal requests catered for (eg soya milk) and the hosts are friendly without being in your face.
There are lots of restaurants and the harbour within a 5 or 6 minute walk and yet the location is quiet.
Hard to find any negatives: the bed (double) could have been larger (although it was very comfy) and the walk from the harbour is uphill (not a problem unless old or infirm).
Overall I highly recommend and would stay here agin.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor and I could hear people walking in the room above although it was not exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thanks for your great review and the time taken to write it. We're really pleased we "hit the spot"!
We also think attention to detail is the key, and we've recently introduced new luxury matress toppers to make the beds even more snuggly, and this week are introducing new, extra long pillows for our rooms with twin, king and superking beds.
We also think our Full English Breakfasts are worth shouting about, with good quality local eggs, bacon and sausages at their heart, but that's not all we can offer, there is vegetarian and gluten free options as well and, as you say, soya milk for those that want it.
As well as the double that you stayed in, we also have Twins, Kings, and superkings available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Both I and my partner stayed in the Haytor for a two night get away in December. Peter and Roger are great hosts and made us feel very welcome during our stay over the festive period. Breakfast menu was varied and we opted for the full English which did not disappoint. The room was spacious and contained brew making equipment, water and biscuits. The bathroom was en-suite and the shower was great. The location itself is lovely, very leafy and the house is very very nice (not your typical Torquay hotel). Would have stayed forever but real life beckoned, can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon_Sad_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thanks for your lovely review and we are please to hear we helped make the festive season a little bit more special.
Best wishes for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Haytor Hotel from December 27th-31st 2013 and were hugely impressed.

The owners Roger and Peter were really friendly and warm and couldn't do enough for us. They gave us recommendations on local restaurants and attractions, none of which disappointed.

The hotel's location is wonderful as is it up a quiet road so there is little noise, however, it is only a 5 minute walk away from loads of the restaurants/bars and a short drive from many other key places in Torquay. Perfect!

Our room was lovely and comfortable and was cleaned everyday. The decor was great- very stylish. Breakfast was also lovely- we sampled the full english and the porridge and thoroughly enjoyed both.

Should we ever decide to visit Torquay again, we would definitely be happy to have a second visit to The Haytor Hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi_Arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thanks for your review and we're please we helped make your xmas stay one to remember, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very friendly and warm welcome from the host. Very clean and spacious room, comfy bed, nicely furnished and bottles of water very handy. Usual tea and coffee and some biscuits too. Nice and quiet, good variety of breakfasts on offer, and very flexible (nice and full every morning!). Plenty of local information available, and host very knowledgeable. Lots of restaurants and bars within a stones throw of the hotel, but it's just far enough away from the town to avoid any late night noise. Perfect location to venture out from, easy to pick up the trail of coastal walks, and 5 minutes to the harbour for trips (note: most boat and tourist trips stop at end of October - so we missed them, but plenty of other things to do and see, and eat!).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thanks for your review, packed full of useful information for future guests.
Torquay is a great location to explore Devon, and our location in a conservation area 400m from the harbour means you are close to the town which you can walk down to leaving the car in our carpark or venture our for a coastal walk, or drive out into the moors. For those without transport, the harbour is a key stopping point for a range of bus services including the No12 which serves the whole Bay giving easy access to Paignton and Brixham and other bus services going to the charming village of Cockington and the clifftop resort of Babbacombe. As the reviewer mentioned, in Summer there are also a range of boat trips including trips to Dartmouth and the home of Agatha Christie, and a regular service to Brixham and Paignton.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in December. Very friendly welcome from Peter, we were sat down offered information on the area for food etc which makes a nice change.
Decor throughout was very nice including rooms.
Breakfast was cooked perfectly. Roger was also very friendly amd kept us entertained one evening after returning from a meal.
Overall very nice experience, my only personal opinion to make it better would be to have some background music playing on entrance and also in the bar area of an evening.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TheGoodwins_plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
You'll be pleased to hear we now do have the background music in the (residents only) Bar and Lounge, and although its only on quiet so as not to be intrusive (and can be turned off on request for guests who prefer complete quiet) we do agree it makes a difference. Thanks for the suggestion. We're also proud to support the music industry by holding both PRS and PPL licenses for playing music in public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stay at the Haytor Hotel on a regular basis while visiting family in Torquay.Peter and Roger are always excellent hosts, nothing is ever too much trouble. The rooms are always spotless with very comfortable beds and a good breakfast. The location is also perfect with just a five minute walk to the harbour and good restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It was lovely to see you again and thanks for leaving your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at the Haytor to attend a busness conference, and enjoyed my stay very much. I had the best nights sleep of any hotel I have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and making breakfast earlier than their normal time was no trouble. The room was extremely comfortable and very clean. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
511 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
656 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,468 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £83 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing