We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! A real find! ”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bicester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic! A real find! ”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Haytor for one night as part of a business trip to the area. What a treat! Reasonably priced with a wonderful breakfast included.

The room was immaculate, with a very comfy bed! Just what was needed after a long drive.

The owners were also extremely accommodating; eager to help and make suggestions where they could about where to eat and what to do.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hush_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave a review and thanks for your nice comments. We're glad you had a good night's sleep, we've upgraded all our beds in the last year and it's good to hear they are doing their job. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
728
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I'd like to thank Peter and his team for a wonderful stay in their hotel last weekend (15/03/14).
We received such a warm and friendly welcome as we arrived and Peter made us feel like we'd be staying with friends.
The room was beautifully decorated, clean and the bed was so comfy! and had all we needed, including tea and coffee making facilities. Being a keen fan of the Hotel Inspector, i did try and scrutinise the place but it was spotless and fault free, everything just as you'd expect and as it should be. I'll definitely be recommending the Haytor and would make it my first choice to stay when next in Torquay.
Top marks Peter and team!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fowlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave a review and for your kind comments. We're a small team here, just the 4 of us and we take pride in what we try to do, make everybodies stay the best it can be, and try to make it a bit special. We're glad to have passed your inspection (we're also Hotel Inspector fans - it's required viewing in this house!)
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddenden, Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for two very relaxing nights whilst our bathroom was being remodelled. We had to change our booking very suddenly as the builders turned up a week early (I know...unheard of!) and this was handled brilliantly. An alternative room was found for us quickly and without drama and we were able to tell the builders they could start work. So thank you so much Peter and Roger. The hotel is in a very quiet location but an easy walk from the town with plenty of restaurants and the marina within reach. We sat in the sunshine for hours watching the boats and enjoying the views. Our room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable that we commented on it. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts were fantastic. I particularly recommend the perfectly boiled egg.. We have another bathroom in need of remodelling and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashmonden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Manager at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
We were glad to be able to assist with your change of plan and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a last minute break and it was fantastic!

We arrived an hour early and it was no problem! The hosts provided us with a lovely warm welcome and we're given loads of info on the area, what to do and where to eat, brilliant for us as we hadn't been to Torquay before!

No need to worry about parking as they have plenty of spaces and it's safe too!

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk to the town centre and all the restaurants!

Make sure you have the full English breakfast as it's amazing!

The bed was sooo comfy and the shower facilities were brilliant!

Everyone was lovely and friendly and we'll defo be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E10HAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments and helpful advice for future guests, which is, after all, the real purpose of Trip Advisor, as whilst we can say these things on our own hotel website, we know from when we've looked at Trip Advisor for our own holidays, it's reassuring to hear good stuff from previous guests.
Hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

For us this is the best B&B in Torquay, great hosts, nice decor, good location, no parking issues, stylish rooms; we wish we'd stayed longer, especially for the breakfasts! We'd not planned our stay properly but Roger and Peter provided us with plenty of options on restaurants and local attractions. All round a great stay! Definitely recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrabBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments, and we hope you will be able to visit the area for a bit longer next time as (we think) its a beautiful part of the world, from the beaches and coast walks, the the historic buildings, prehistoric caverns and many tourist attractions, to the wild beauty of the moors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We found the reviews on trip advisor very helpful when looking to book our recent break to Torquay. We booked a small double room at the Haytor and the room was well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Tea and Coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and a comfy bed and lovely pillows.

On our arrival Peter greeted us and provided us with information on the area and quality restaurants well worth a visit. Both Roger and Peter were great hosts and the breakfast room and lounge/bar area were tastefully decorated nothing short of first rate.

Speaking of first rate the breakfasts were full of quality ingredients and were well cooked just what you need to start the day, choice of juices, cerals and yoghurts.

I would most definately recommend the Haytor Hotel to friends and colleagues the property is sitatued on a quiet road and short distance from the main streets and parking was just outside the front door, we will return.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia196802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments, and great useful points for future guests. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great location, can do coast walks and seafront walks all from the front door of the haytor. Really good location for food and socialising, the helpful hosts recommended some, we tried jingles and the elephant -two good meals for different reasons.
The hotel was exceptionally well kept and homely without being intrusive, breakfast great quality and rooms really nice . It was a nice touch to let us leave the car whilst we made the most of the last day and not have to worry about putting in public car park with all our gear in it,

Thoroughly recommend this for a break, something special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
Hope to see you again before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,763 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing