We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away..great stay!”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away..great stay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely hotel in a superb location just a short walk from the town centre. The owners were extremely professional and well mannered, and the hotel itself is immaculate. The room although one of the smaller options was perfectly decorated and the bed so comfortable it was difficult to get up!! However the freshly cooked breakfast was enough to entice us downstairs, and Jean could not have been more accomodating in ensuring you left having a great meal. I would add that her work ethic is one that some other businesses should review and implement! Can not fault anything about this hotel and would recommend to anyone wanting to visit Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara's P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. As you mention we do have a range of rooms from our compact Small Double to our Premier rooms, but every room has the same care and attention, the same luxury Aromatherapy Associates toiletries and luxury mattress toppers, so there's something for everyone. Jean, our Breakfast waitress, is fabulous and keeps us on our toes making sure everyone gets what they need for a really good start for the day.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
752
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Haytor Hotel on our Wedding weekend and it was fabulous. Made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Room was fantastic - it was so comfortable and clean. We had a lovely view overlooking the garden and Torquay. On the morning of the wedding I didn't go down to breakfast and there was knocked on the door to see if I would like some toast or cereal (which was incredibly sweet). We had a lovely breakfast the following day - cooked breakfast, toast, cereals, juice, tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble and would like to thank Roger and Peter so much for a wonderful stay and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave a review and for your kind comments. We're glad to have played our little bit in your special weekend and wish you the very best for your life together. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a gem of a hotel in a fabulous location only a 10 minute walk away from breathtaking views at Meadfoot beach, and a short walk in the opposite direction to the main promenade. There are some great restaurants very close by and plenty of cuisine's to choose from. The owners made our stay very comfortable and they are doing a great job of running this place. We had a very informative and warm welcome on our arrival and plenty of information about surrounding areas. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was grand! A special mention must be given to the lady who serves breakfast and makes sure everyone eats properly. The whole experience was very memorable and we are looking forward to returning to this lovely hotel! :) Excellent in every way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaunteresque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we're pleased to have helped towards a nice break in Torquay. We appreciate your appreciation of our efforts, we love the business we're in and making people happy! We're just a small team and Jean (our breakfast waitress) is a star! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We are a group of older football supporters who stayed at the Haytor Hotel, in Torquay over the May bank holiday weekend, as our team were playing Torquay. We decided to make it a long weekend away, and the long suffering wives could have a weekend away as well. We were greeted on arrival by the owners who made us all feel very welcome. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were great, plenty of choice and very well cooked. The rooms were also very comfortable, and again clean. I had a bit of trouble with the tempremental shower, but did get it sorted. The bar is good to come back to for a nightcap.This hotel will be first choice next time we go to Torquay, and will be recommended but us all. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for your lovely comments.
We really glad you enjoyed your stay and that the match had a good outcome and your team stayed up! Thanks for letting us know about the shower, it was a quick fix and now sorted. I know your team wont be playing Torquay again until we come back up into the same division, but hopefully that wont be too long and in the meantime we'd love to see you again for a non football break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the haytor this time last year and were keen to go back, (even more so when we received a returning guest discount). The owners are lovely! The rooms are clean and homely and the bed extremely comfortable! Free, fast wi-fi, and a great carpark!
The hotel also has a bar, so it's lovely to buy a bottle of wine and sit out on the beautiful terrace in the evenings before strolling for 3 minutes into the heart of torquay.
When we arrived the owner spent 15 minutes recommending activities to do and restaurants to visit, giving us lots of maps and booklets to keep, which was great, and we took him up on lots of the suggestions.
The only downside was the shower, which dribbled out, even when used at off peak times. But this is the only negative comment we have.
We would definitely recommend it and would go back again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and we are glad you enjoyed your second stay with us.
Apologies for the shower, we're getting this checked out and thanks for bringing it to our attention.
We have a range of rooms from small doubles to our Premier rooms, some with baths, but most with showers (see our website for details). We use a variety of shower types (mains pressure electric, mixer, and tank fed thermostatic), and it looks as if this one needs a tweak.
Best wishes and hope to see you again before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Small comfortable Hotel. Attentive owners. Car parking. Water in the room. Has a small bar. Lovely gardens. Clean. Great for couples, single people , Gay friendly. They do not take children under 12. Good breakfast

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs ask for ground floor or first as second floor stairs fairly steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
The hotel is located just 400m from the Harbour in a leafy conservation area a short way up Meadfoot Road, which like much of Torquay (and Devon) is on a hill. Fortunately ours is one of the smaller ones and the gradient from the Harbour averages just 1 in 15. Most people leave their cars in our carpark and walk to and from the Harbour, however if you have any mobility issues, you may choose to take a 2 minute taxi back to the hotel (plenty available in the harbour area).
Our rooms are located on three floors and if you book direct with us via phone or our website, we are happy to try to arrange for a particular room / floor. Our Small Doubles (which this review stayed in) and Standard Doubles with Baths are the rooms on the Second floor, however our other rooms are either on the ground or first floor.
Again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I just spent 3 nights there and loved it. Lovely owners and staff. Great breakfast! Beautiful hotel & peaceful grounds. I'll definitely be back. Short stroll to the seafront, shops & restaurants. Wonderful place and super comfortable beds!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments. We actually got round recently to getting one of the luxury mattress toppers for our own bed - having put them in all the guest rooms last year and hearing so many good comments, we decided we were missing out!
Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing