We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Highly Recommended”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Exemplorary customer service throughout - check in was informative with all staff welcoming and professional. Room (No 5) including bathroom was spotlessly clean, spacious and of high quality. The most comfortable bed ever and we have stayed at numerous of B&Bs, hotels, etc throughout the UK & worldwide. Breakfast was flavoursome and professionally served with options to suit all. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has a historical feel - we cannot recommend this accommodation higtly enough. Most suitable for the more discerning - excellent value!!

Room Tip: Room No 5 overlooking gardens on 1st floor - spacious with the most comfy bed ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments. We're glad to have made your stay so pleasant and that the care and attention why try to put into the hotel is recognised like this.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

A beautiful hotel with a touch of class. Our room was lovely if not a little on the warm side and the spotlight did shine in the bedroom window at night. it had a nice large shower and nice fluffy towels, the breakfast was excellent and the lady who was in charge of the breakfast service couldn't do enough for us. It was surprisingly quiet at night which was very welcome, but it's location allowed a short walk into town to enjoy the seafront.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in total darkness ask for one of the rooms to the side or at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review, and for your kind comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay in Torquay in the most part.
We're sorry about the temperature problems, your visit coincided with the season's first heatwave and our apologies for not letting you know that fans were available on request (we don't leave them in rooms all the time to avoid unnecesssarilly clutering the room when they are not needed). We're also sorry about the light intrusion from one of the flood lights that are on until 11.30pm, we've had a chance to check it and it seems a car may have knocked it out of position, but this has now been sorted.
Whilst we have resolved these issues now, we'd always encourage any guest to let us know at the time, if there is anything that is causing a problem, as both of these issues were easily solved, and even where there is something we can't resolve straight away, the sooner we know about something, the sooner we can start to make it better.
We do appreciate you letting us know about the issues and for your other kind comments.
Best wishes and we hope you'll think of us if you are ever back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for a short three night break. The Haytor deserves all the fabulous reviews. It is spotless (and I am very fussy!), beautifully decorated and has friendly but not intrusive staff. I would definitely recommend this delightful hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L_H60Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you make it back before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Ideal location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Decorated to a high standard throughout. Breakfast excellent. Good value for money. Will be returning in the future. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, and we look forward to seeing you again before too long.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It was over 25 years since we last visited Torquay, however, due to a sunny weather forecast we booked here for a couple of nights. We booked a standard room which we thought was on the small side, however, perfectly adequate for a couple of nights, larger rooms were available. Best things about the hotel are the location which is only a few minutes walk from the harbour. The full English breakfast was delicious, croissants, cereals, fruit, bagels, scrambled eggs, yoghurt and juices also available, all served by Jean who made everyone feel very welcome and took the time to ask if they were enjoying their holiday, top marks Jean for that personal touch. When we arrived we were greeted by Peter one of the owners who suggested places to visit, local walks and good restaurants, thank you, it was appreciated as we visited Biancos Italian restaurant which was lovely (see separate review). Our bed was super comfy, there was plenty of storage space, complimentary tea / coffee / biscuits/ kettle in the room. Shower on the small side, however, again adequate for a couple of nights. Great information folder provided in the bedroom, again top marks for this. The hotel's communal areas are well decorated and so are the bedrooms, they are as they appear on the photographs on the hotel's website which is a welcome change from many hotels. There is a small garden / seating area which is well tended. There is also a small lounge / bar area serving drinks until 10.30pm. The lovely dining room overlooks the garden. Ample car parking space. On checking out we were asked the 'golden' question did we enjoy our stay? It is so annoying when they don't ask. Yes we did enjoy our stay and we would recommend this hotel, the owners make you feel very welcome and we thought it represented good value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, however, we think a larger room on the first floor would be better plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojojoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for taking time to leave such an informative review for future readers and for your kind comments. We're pleased to have made your return to Torquay after such a long break a nice experience.
As you mention, we have a variety of rooms from compact Small Doubles, through to the Standard Doubles, the Executive and Superior Kings, and our Premier rooms with either King, Superking or Twin beds. In each range the room / ensuites are more spacious than the one before, but every room gets the same luxury aromatherapy toiletries, luxury mattress toppers and of course the same attention to detail and service that we try to offer all our guests.
Thanks again for leaving the review and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in june. We arrived early but was able to check in straight away. Very friendly welcome and was given a great amount of information on the area and where was best to go. Room was spotless and presented well. Was in a good location for us just a few minutes walk away from the busy torquay centre which made it very quiet especially at night. Breakfast was delicious and filling and the lady who served us couldn't be more helpfully. On checking out we were able to leave our luggage for a few hours until are train arrived which was kind of the owners. This hotel was so clean presented well with helpful and friendly staff and we would highly recommend it. Definitely will return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for the helpful information you've left for other readers.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our third stay at the hotel and again we very pleased with everything. The room was superb and we received a very warm welcome from Peter. The breakfast is excellent and the waitress very charming. We shall be going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Great to see you once again and many thanks for taking the time to leave you review.
Best wishes and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
506 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £84 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing