We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Etna, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

the hospitality was great. we liked the location..it was not exactly in the old marina in town but a pleasant 10 minute jaunt down the hill and close to the best restraunts and beaches. would return next time!

Room Tip: back rooms smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kvs500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're glad you enjouyed your stay.
The hotel is just 400m from the Harbour, a short downhill walk, but far enough away to be out of the bustle and within a conservation area (one of the main reasons why the 1853 Villa has managed to survive intact.
We have a range of rooms, priced based on room size, from our Small Doubles through to our largest rooms, the Premiers. Example pictures of each of the room types are available on our own website, the link to which is at the top of this page, just under the hotel name.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    134
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
712
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited Roger & Peter ,Oh! and the girls xx (the mast gorgeous dogs ever) ... again this year in June for 2 weeks at "The Haytor Hotel" the Best Hotel & location in Devon.A warm & friendly welcome on arrival and the Champagne chilled ready,a great start to a great holiday..We booked room 7 as we had stayed in this room the previous year. We were late arriving as we had some bad news just before we left .Also we had to leave to go back to Yorkshire the following week to a funeral but returned the following day.Our stay there was very helpful to our sad situation, and it was a great help with Roger Peter & Jean being so considerate . (HI JEAN !) she is the most amazing breakfast lady ever so friendly and always so helpful.We hope to see you all again soon xxx If you are thinking of visiting Torquay "The Haytor is the place to go! Denise & Dave xx Wakefield West Yorkshire .

Room Tip: room 7 fantastic booked this room 2 years running now ,and we will be back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denpsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
We glad we were able to offer a bit of respite at a difficult time for you and hope to see you again before long in better circumstances.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had enjoyed our stay last year so much we returned again and had lovely weather to enjoy another wonderful tranquile stay from 27th to 30th July. We had a lovely room in the original part of the hotel. The breakfast was great too and the staff understated but very helpful - with ideas for days out.
We took two walks from the informatioin book in our room - both had stunning views over the bays. We re-visited the local fish restaurant as recommended by the hotel last year. - No 7 where we had a fabulous meal - the range of choice was too much to take in! We had hoped to visit a local Austrian restaurant again recommended by Peter and Roger the hotel owners but it was closed at the start of the week so missed that delight. Instead we had a good time in the lively Greek restaurant a short walk from the hotel. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for its high standards and relaxing environment. Our daughter, aged 21 came with us this year and described it as both stylish yet informal. We were very impressed at being able to purchase locally sourced beers and ciders to take home as gifts for friends too!

Room Tip: Consult the owners to assist in choosing a room to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
It was lovely to see you again, and hope it wont be too long before your next visit (if only to stock up on the beers!
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I had 4-day break at the Haytor Hotel in July. We were welcomed warmly by Roger and Peter; nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast lady was a fountain of knowledge and the food made a very good start to our days. The hotel is very handy for Torquay harbour and the excellent restaurants they recommended. We'll definitely stay there again.

Jon Langham

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely two nights stay at this very impressive hotel. The accommodation was very nice, in particular the lovely bed linen and comfortable bed, we even had a nice view of the sea. The owners are very nice, helpful and accommodating. The hotel was very clean and tastefully decorated and the breakfast was excellent!! All cooked to order with lots to choose from and the lady that waited the tables was very nice and nothing was too much trouble! The location is good, just a five minute walk to the town and harbour.
I would have no hesitation returning here or recommending others to stay! If you are visiting Torquay you should certainly give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindseyjaynewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
We do have 2 rooms from which it is possible to see the sea, but really, it's just a glimpse and we would not want readers to think we have significant sea views. Most of our rooms have views of the gardens which are on 3 sides of the house, and the surounding properties with their mature gardens, a benefit of beiong in a conservation area.
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your recommendation.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent Hotel stayed for 2 days, hotel is a short walk to the harbour. Parking was free, food was very good. Got given loads of information on the different restaurants we could go to and the different attractions in the area with money off vouchers on some attractions. Excellent place to stay it's not to noisy being close to the town and is quite in the day and night. Would recommend to friends and family and would definitely go back again if I am going to Torquay.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnymo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in July which was a last minute break, we found everyone to be wonderful helpful people, nothing was too much trouble, everything was very clean and it has got to be the best breakfast I have had in a long while. I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Torquay for a short break or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing