We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Elegant Hotel”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed here for a few days in May. Fantastic Stylish and Elegant Hotel. From arrival to departure it was a great experience. Met on arrival by the proprietor who arranged a welcome pot of tea. Our room was lovely- exceptionally clean, spacious and elegant ly designed and Clarins amenities. Lovely comfortable bed and soft bedding. Quiet rooms. Good lighting. A great breakfast in lovely dining area looking out onto beautiful grade / listed garden. Safe car parking. The Hotel is discreetly tucked away from Torquay town so it feels as if it's out in the country, yet it's only a 5-6 minute walk to the centre of Torquay town. Lovely, friendly staff, an excellent experience, great value for money and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StormyMX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2009

I have never written a review before but after my stay at the Haytor Hotel I wanted to share my thoughts.

I received a very warm welcome on my arrival and was presently surprised by the ample parking. My room was nicely decorated with all the essentials for my stay.

The surrounding gardens were tranquil and very relaxing and although I wanted to escape the city life for a while was still able to access e-mails etc on the wi-fi in my room.

I could not fault my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushbabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

just returned from a 3 day stay at this lovely hotel. the room was decorated in a nautical fashion, not a large room but it had plenty of mirrors, lots of hangars and space for clothes. The hairdryer was powerful - which makes a change! i normally have to bring my own. Decor throughout was very tasteful and relaxing. bar/lounge area had an assortment of up to date mags to peruse. Breakfast - choice of 3 juices also cereals, fruit or cooked etc. I had the best scrambled eggs bar none here!
Plenty of room for parking. There is a large terraced area outside where you can sit. Chris was very welcoming when we arrived he is full of local info and let us know about Meadfoot beach a short stroll away. We will definateley be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Very elegant Hotel tastefully refurbished with beautiful grounds. Excellent food and friendly hospitality.

Jack and Irene Bell

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews on this website. This hotel was not rated top of the reviews but the position and ample parking were the deciding factors. Some of the higher rated hotels failed to provided adequate parking. The hotel was decorated and maintained to a very high standard. The breakfast consisted of a buffet for cereals and fruit, with a a served cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was as healthy as is possible for a cooked breakfast with items grilled where possible. There was a continental alternative to the cooked breakfast should you prefer. We stayed in Room 6 and this was reasonably spacious and as mentioned decorated to a high standard. Chris the owner was extremely friendly and helpful and gave us tips on where to eat at night. We ate at three of his recommendations and he was spot on with his view of each of them. We recommend that visitors book the restaurants as soon as they book the hotel. Our recommendations are 1) The Orange Tree - Fabulous 2) No 7 - Fish and Fish - Great Food and Atmosphere 3) The Elephant - Very nice if perhaps not as good as the restaurant owners think. Try them in the order shown and you can walk to each. We will certainly stay here on our next visit to Torquay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZZJonZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

If you need a hotel in Torquay in which to dispel the image of Basil, Sybil & Manuel waiting to greet you then this is the place.

From the moment we entered we felt the guys there put themselves out to make us feel welcome and make our stay enjoyable. We were there to see in the New Year and they pointed us in the right direction for our meal on that evening.
They recommended the Orange Tree and were weren't disappointed.

The Hotel is situated on a hill just up from the town centre but we felt this was no real problem, we didn't need crampons and oxygen.

The Lounge / Bar was a very comfortable place to relax, the dining room again was very pleasent, Breakfast was very filling, with a varied choice including full English.

The bedrooms aren't massive but then you have to take into account that when the place was built bedrooms were just for sleeping in !.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends and family, and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyScat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel which is in an excellent location for visiting Torquay. It is well within walking distance of the town centre but is situated on a steep hill so walking back is hard work. We stayed in the four-poster room which felt a little smaller than it appears in the photo on the website but was clean and well-maintained with nice decor. There was tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits, and a decent flat screen TV. The Clarins toiletries in the bathroom were a nice touch.

Although the hotel is close to town, it was very quiet at night and we slept well. I do agree with a previous reviewer that breakfast is served a little early for my liking (8:30-9:30am), and there is an early check-out (10:30am). The breakfast was good though and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maroonity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £88 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing