We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly, welcoming”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tickenham, N Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly, welcoming”
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This was the first time my wife and I had visited the Haytor, found on the internet.

It was warm, friendly, welcoming, superbly furnished, plenty of parking, and only a very short downhill walk to the harbour.

They do super king beds, which are a must for us, and the prices are very reasonable.

The fact that it does not take children was a bonus for us, though I love my grandchildren dearly!

Thanks to Chris & John, we'll be back.

Dave & Ree

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
754
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

hotel was in a great location,chris the owner is so helpful he the best host ever.rooms were so clean and tidy you could not fault the place ,i wll be back again thankyou

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayfairmutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Well I definitely hit the jackpot on finding this place on tripadvisor.com, this hotel is more like a small boutique hotel where you can go with your significant other and/or friends and be able to enjoy Torquay. It is extremely close to the water without having you on the main road with all the noise and mayhem of any drunk crowd. The service was the best I've received in a long time, we were greeted warmly given a room upgrade. The rooms were perfectly decorated and dare I say better prepared than my own home and just as relaxing and inviting. The staff were out of your way but when it came to breakfast or any help they were there almost behind the scenes taking care of any inconvenience.
Breakfast was great and the surroundings were very comfortable. The proximity to the water was perfect and this location is ideal for people who don't want to necessarily be in a loud mix of people and just want to relax. The charm is definitely in the fact that this hotel is very small that attention can be given to each guest. I would suggest this to friends looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We have just returned from our second stay at this hotel and I must say that I feel you would be hard pressed to find another one that could offer the value for money and fabulousness that this hotel has.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, accommodating and attentive. The breakfast was absolutely delicious!!

This hotel is brillant!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This is a superb Hotel & from the moment you walk through the door to a welcoming cup of tea or coffee nothing is too much trouble.
The Hotel is spotless rooms are very comfortable Chris is a great host & the breakfasts are fantastic we would also like to mention Jean who is brilliant. the Easter bunny was a nice touch too Thank You x
The hotel is in a Great location only 5 mins from the Harbour, Bars, Restaurants etc & with parking on site no need to use your car.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

did't know what to expect as booked on-line. It was fantastic , ideal location for attractions around Torquay. very high standard within the hotel made to feel at home by the friendly staff . nothing seemed to be too much trouble. would definatly return to this hotel if going back to Torquay. Recommend to anyone going to this area

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2010

If you're looking for a smaller hotel with stylish modern rooms, lovely home cooked breakfast, in a superb location for the marina, beach, shops and reatuarants .......then this is it!

We loved this hotel. Its a charming and and friendly place to stay, more like a boutique hotel and a real gem

We stayed in the main house which has been very nicely redecorated and has a modern but cosy and welcoming feel. Little touches like the silky bedsheets, mohair blankets and aromatherapy toiletries in your bathroom gave an added feel of luxury.

The gardens are just lovely and the parking a real plus. The breakfast was freshy cooked and delicious. We really wouldn't bother going anywhere else now.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,889 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing