We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
944
142
18
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
142
18
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel on arrival meadfoot beach town centre warm welcome short walk high standard breakfast was delicious lovely garden quiet road small hotel bars and restaurants comfortable bed within easy walking distance top floor torquay harbour steep hill
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We booked this at the last minute - great choice. Only 5 minutes from the front.Lovely hotel - rooms spotless and very comfy. Breakfast was superb with great choice. Would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area. Thanks Peter.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Hi Brian m, really pleased you had a great stay with us, thanks for leaving a great review and hope you'll be visiting us again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I travel a great deal and stay in many hotels but now we have found “Our Gem” in Torquay. Peter, the owner greeted us with tea and homemade flapjacks, Dave entertained us and kept us amused in the bar in the evening before going out to dine, Jean looked after us at breakfast with all out needs to refresh ourselves after a very comfy overnight in our delightful room, then we met Ian who asked we pop into see him on our departure to say goodbye.
The hotel is a real treat, tasteful, clean, quiet, beautiful in all areas and attention to detail is uppermost. Oh! I nearly forgot the stunning and tasty breakfast, on fresh white laundered tablecloths.
We WILL return I’m sure of that, until the next time everyone, keep up the good work you’re on a winner.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne60186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Lynne, thanks for your fantastic review. Really pleased to hear you were well looked after by the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Haytor very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Another great visit,a warm welcome,lovely staff,they can't do enough for you. The breakfast is amazing and Jean,breakfast wouldn't be breakfast without her.Our room was so comfortable and the bed a dream.Peter,Dave and Ian made our stay special,we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room tip: Room 1 on the ground floor has a wet room and is accessible as my husband has mobility issues this was perfect for us.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cbennett238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi cbennett238, so glad you enjoyed your latest stay with us and that you were well looked after. Thanks for your review and hope we'll be seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Met by a lovely man, sorry not sure of his name on Friday night, welcoming us and explaining everything for our stay. Breakfast lovely as was on our last visit a year ago. Jean was her normal bubbly self and couldn't do enough for us, would highly recommend a visit, you will not be disappointed, sorry we didn't get to say goodbye Jean, we will be back From Wendy, Chris, Wayne and Sharron from Somerset

Room tip: All rooms nice
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Windymiller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Wendy, Chris, Wayne and Sharron, thanks for your lovely review, really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We have been to Torquay many, many times and visited lots of different hotels, we have now finally found a location we will use on all future visits. Great location, great food and lovely surroundings.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markinstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Hi Markinstoke, thrilled to hear we'll be your go to hotel in Torquay in future, thanks for the great review and remember to contact us direct when booking to ensure you get the best possible deal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews