We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual!!!”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This is our fourth trip to the haytor - it was excellent as usual!
Chris (the hotel owner) always friendly and approachable, he also advises people on the best restaurants to eat at if asked.
Within walking distance of the town, approx 100m.
Can't wait to make a fifth trip to the haytor!
Thanks Chris see you next time!
From
M & L Russell (Tredegar)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katielrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Haytor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

Stayed between 16-19th April with my husband and two friends. We were greeted by Chris the owner who made us feel totally at home by offering us tea before checkin. We both had superior rooms which were just perfect, spotlessly clean with superking size bed and wonderful bathroom. Breakfast was served in a lovely light and airy room overlooking the garden. Chris personally served the beautifully cooked breakfast and nothing was too much trouble if you required something abit different. He was a perfect host who recommended when asked various restaurants and places to visit during our stay and booked taxis and restaurant reservations for us no trouble. Overall I would say this hotel is a litte gem and would recommend it to anyone, especially if you want to be spoiled and made to feel special. See you again soon Chris.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gforceross-on-wye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This was the first time my wife and I had visited the Haytor, found on the internet.

It was warm, friendly, welcoming, superbly furnished, plenty of parking, and only a very short downhill walk to the harbour.

They do super king beds, which are a must for us, and the prices are very reasonable.

The fact that it does not take children was a bonus for us, though I love my grandchildren dearly!

Thanks to Chris & John, we'll be back.

Dave & Ree

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

hotel was in a great location,chris the owner is so helpful he the best host ever.rooms were so clean and tidy you could not fault the place ,i wll be back again thankyou

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayfairmutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Well I definitely hit the jackpot on finding this place on tripadvisor.com, this hotel is more like a small boutique hotel where you can go with your significant other and/or friends and be able to enjoy Torquay. It is extremely close to the water without having you on the main road with all the noise and mayhem of any drunk crowd. The service was the best I've received in a long time, we were greeted warmly given a room upgrade. The rooms were perfectly decorated and dare I say better prepared than my own home and just as relaxing and inviting. The staff were out of your way but when it came to breakfast or any help they were there almost behind the scenes taking care of any inconvenience.
Breakfast was great and the surroundings were very comfortable. The proximity to the water was perfect and this location is ideal for people who don't want to necessarily be in a loud mix of people and just want to relax. The charm is definitely in the fact that this hotel is very small that attention can be given to each guest. I would suggest this to friends looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We have just returned from our second stay at this hotel and I must say that I feel you would be hard pressed to find another one that could offer the value for money and fabulousness that this hotel has.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, accommodating and attentive. The breakfast was absolutely delicious!!

This hotel is brillant!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This is a superb Hotel & from the moment you walk through the door to a welcoming cup of tea or coffee nothing is too much trouble.
The Hotel is spotless rooms are very comfortable Chris is a great host & the breakfasts are fantastic we would also like to mention Jean who is brilliant. the Easter bunny was a nice touch too Thank You x
The hotel is in a Great location only 5 mins from the Harbour, Bars, Restaurants etc & with parking on site no need to use your car.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,947 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#13 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing