We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab place to stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Visited this Hotel May 07 stayed two nights. What a fab hotel , along with fab hosts, Chris and Robert. Chris met us on arrival , I warmed to him instantly. He was very professional with a personal touch. He was available at all times, as he said he would be, but kept in the background when not needed. He did everything to make our stay enjoyable, recommending places to eat or visit. The hotel was spotless, tastefully decorated, top class furnishings.
The lady who served breakfast was also very professional with a welcoming warm way.

Close enough to places to eat , drink and visit but with a nice distance so not bothered by noise.

Will return again.

Jane Bignall

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 102938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
742
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2010

An excellent position with only a short walk to the main town, harbour, shops, restaurants etc. so you can leave the car in the hotel car park and avoid parking problems and expense in Torquay. A friendly personal service with advice on places to visit and restaurants etc. The Hotel is tastefully furnished with flair for the decor that puts it in a quality field.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauriebarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

great hotel, brilliant location only 200 yards from town, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, and best of all the don't accept kids.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizahubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I would certainly recommend this lovely hotel.
Chris & staff were very attentive - nothing was too much trouble.
Very good location - near to everything you may need.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue3_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This weekend my husband and I spent at the Hayton Hotel , it was a surprise my husband had booked for my birthday . when we arrived we wre met by Chris who was very friendly , he booked us in over a cool drink in the bar , which was much needed after the long drive . our room was the four poster bedroom , it was spotlessly clean . the brekfast was very nice with lots of coffee , tea and toast , just right to set us up for the day .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Made to feel comfortable from our arrival. EXCELLENT BREAKFASTS. Perhaps one day an evening meal will be available in the charming dining room,

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreview858504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Compliments are in order for this excellently well groomed hotel. The owner Chris is very kind and helpful and the staff will go out of their way to make you fell at home. The place is very quiet, but just a few minutes walk away from the buzz. The surroundings are very relaxing as well. Breakfeast is very good. Beds are great, LCD tvs on the rooms, nothing AT ALL to complain about, except for the small show cubicles, which do not affect the stay in any way shape or form.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielFSoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,826 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing