We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay here”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I'm not one to usually write a review, but I felt that my stay at this hotel was deserving of some effort on my part to do so.

Our stay was for two nights. From check-in to check-out, the service we received was particularly good and the owners were always attentive and made us feel very welcome.

The food was very good and was rather a surprise as we were not expecting to get 'restaurant' quality. So, its well worth eating in the restaurant here if you get the chance. Prices were very reasonable.

Our room was very clean and comfortable and a step up from some other hotels we had stayed at in the past couple of years when visiting the area.

It was a real treat to sit by the pool and the garden are was very nice and well tended. There's a lovely conservatory that you can have breakfast in that over loocks the pool and gardens. Not too far from the seafront either so a good location.

A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFitzEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    62
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
62
487
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2011

If you are thinking of visiting Torquay, this is a great place to stay and it is within walking distance to the seafront and to town. The breakfast and dinner were delicious. The hotel was spotless and Carsten was always at hand to help with any queries. We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our stay at The Riviera Lodge Hotel in Torquay was so wonderful and what a gem we have found. I wasn't surprised when chatting to some other guests they return every year.
From the moment you check in you feel at ease with the warm welcome and helpful tips. Our double room felt spacious and absolutely spotless (coming from someone who by my own admittance is a bit obsessive about cleaning I don't say that lightly!)
The flat screen TV, complimentary toiletries, gorgeous bedding and all the little touches in our room made all the difference.
But the breakfast whoo hoo!! These guys can cook, I haven't had better and I have travelled a lot on business but this ones the best - delicious!!
We are going back this year and feel like returning friends we can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Spent a long weekend with friends attending a Rotary conference. Whilst the standard rooms were a little on the small side, they were all immaculate well furnished and good value for money.. The open plan suite and superior rooms were great and the food and welcome was way beyond what we have experienced in lots of other big name and chain hotels. Our thanks to Carsten and Lee.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

From the moment when we were welcomed by Carsten (one of the owners) until, after a week's stay, he waived us goodbye, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The owners had patently spent considerabl;e time and trouble choosing decor, accesories and furniture to give a relaxed and clam atmopsphere. The area round the well kept swimming pool had comfortable recliners and chairs and everything was maintained to a high standard, We did not have dinner there, but the breakfast was very good. The hotel was extremely clean. Our only negative was that the room and, especially the shower room, was rather too small. However, that was forgiven because of the care shown by the owners and other members of staff. Thank you








ly everything in this hotel beautifully organised to make our stay a happy one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemima88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

this really is a nice hotel spotlessley clean with great hosts superb breakfasts and nice size swimming pool the only downside is its on a steep hill which might prove a bit of a drawback for the less mobile otherwise a hidden gem

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazza63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

From the moment we arrived,the friendly welcome made us feel comfortable and relaxed instantly which after a long drive,was just what we needed.We chose this hotel after reading its excellent reviews and were certainly not disappointed. We travel a lot both on business and pleasure, staying in 4+5 star hotels, but this hotel stands out from them all. We stayed in a Premier Plus room which was furnished tastefuully with good quality fixtures and furniture throughout, as was the case with the rest of the hotel. It was spotlessly clean, again as was the rest of the hotel. The pool area was beatiful and private and , once again top qualty furnishings used, and the extra little touches, such as providing blankets for the seating on the higher patio area, showed the extra thoughtfulness which has been shown throughout the hotel.Superb breakfasts which set you up for the day ( best scrambled eggs ever !) and dinner, when taken in the hotel , delicious and very good value for money( reasonably priced wine selection ). Lee+Carsten made us feel we were staying with friends rather than in a hotel and we will certainly be returning. We recommend this star of an hotel to anybody-in fact we have already recommended it to family + friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#4 of 87 in Torquay
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Property: Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Address: 26 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• A great breakfast included • Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing