We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level Contributor
253 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Once again we have had a relaxing enjoyable stay.We had originally booked 9 nights in the same premier plus room we stayed in last year, then , a few weeks later, decided to stay an additional night, and arranged it by e mail with no problem. While we were there we asked if we could possibly keep the room yet another night and , with a bit of reorganisation , it was organised for us.The owners- Carsten+Lee, together with their friend Mark who was helping out for a few weeks, made us welcome like returning friends, and we felt immediately `at home`. Breakfasts are fantastic-- scrambled eggs to die for-- really set you up for the day. Food in the hotel`s restaurant also superb with an excellent, varied menu and well chosen, reasonably priced wines. The room itself was spotless ( as is the whole hotel ) and it is the small little things like having rugs for cooler evenings outside and the thoughtful basket of sun creams for guests who may not have expected to need them which make this hotel stand apart from the others. Our room had had a safe fitted since last year and an extending shaving mirror had been added in the bathroom-- the owners are always thinking of ways to improve the hotel to make guests stay so much more enjoyable. It is the little things that make the difference and nothing is too much trouble. Carsten and Lee are always happy to impart their local knowledge , which is extensive, recommending restaurants, days out etc and also advising on public transport or best place to park. It is this friendly, relaxed atmosphere that makes so many of their guests return year after year-- some even a few times a year! We had mixed weather during our stay but were fortunate enough to spend a couple of afternoons by the hotel`s pool which is beautifully appointed, with good quality comfortable furnture around, making it a lovely, quiet, private and relaxing area. If you have read all the reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor and are impressed, then the comments left in the Visitor`s Book are even better-- Lee +Carsten should be quite deservedly proud. Looking forward to next year`s stay already !!!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are preferrable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    59
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
455
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We both loved the hotel and the friendliness of the staff, lovely breakfast and the room was spotless.
My wife recently had a total knee replacement and still managed to walk to town and the harbour each day - Great physiotherapy!!
What we especially liked is that you are left to do your own thing - no interference.
I fully recommend staying at the hotel, and we will definitely return again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Very warm welcome, we had a Premium Double room which was spacious and comfortable.
The breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice to fit all tastes, we had a full English breakfast.
We didn't have dinner this time but the menue looked great and we would certainly like to try it another time.
The location was good easy access to the seafront and the harbour,
Thank you for a lovely weekend - we will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

a very clean and well furnished hotel excellent breakfast and dinner in lovely surroundings.
staff very friendly and attentive if you require anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Excellent Hotel, the owners Carsten and Lee were very friendly and helpful. Service was second to none, breakfasts are to die for! We stayed in the suite which was very spacious and very clean. We would highly recommend The Riviera Lodge Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is the third time that I have stayed at this hotel and I can thoroughly recommened it. The staff are always very helpful, it's very well kept and a great breakfast. The whole place is peaceful and has an exotic feel to it with a good sized outdoor swimming pool surrounded by palm trees and large conservatory overlooking the pool and gardens. A great place for a holiday in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We've just had a lovely 4 night break staying at the riviera lodge, it definitely lives up to all the brilliant reviews. A friendly and warm welcome on arrival and an up grade to the premier plus room ( we booked the premier room ) it was beautiful, really spacious and everything you get from a luxurious 4*. The breakfast is first class and the service is excellent. We had 2 evening meals at the hotel and they were delicious, as good as any top restaurant but bigger portions. We will be back next year for sure. Thanks again to Carsten and Lee.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millygucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Property: Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Address: 26 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• A great breakfast included • Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing