We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were made really welcome and given some excellent tips for day trips and restaurants. Couldn't fault the friendliness and helpfulness of Carsten and Lee and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. When we come back to Torquay we will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    59
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
455
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely hotel very clean and helpful staff very enjoyable break. You may need to upgrade to slightly bigger room. Very quiet area lovely pool and breakfast was excellent.
The town centre is within walking distance but slight hill on the return journey.

Room Tip: Upgrade gives you slightly more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank annedanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here for a few nights for conference recently and found it to be generally of good standard. Owners very helpful and friendly - happy to let me leave my car in the car park for whole day even after i had checked out.
Rooms are ok, bit small but reasonably kitted out with nice shower etc. breakfast very nice and chef makes excellent scrambled eggs, as good as i have ever had in a hotel. Overall very handy for the conference centre or sea front and marina.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danrSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

The Riviera Lodge is neither great nor bad and normally I wouldn't bother to write a review. But seeing the glowing reviews here I felt a bit of balance might be useful.
I stayed with a group and should admit I didn't pay the bill. Nevertheless I know Torquay hotels well and how much was paid. The hotel is very clean, freshly decorated and reasonably friendly. It is well located on a quiet back street near the town centre with on or off street parking. The decor is very traditional Torquay, albeit modernised in some areas - don't expect a bijou boutique experience. My room was very very small with a tiny bathroom and shower. Linen was good quality and clean. The hot water takes absolutely ages to reach the shower or tap - several minutes, almost to the point of not bothering to shower.
The breakfast was ok, not exceptional - the ingredients didn't really shine. Considering how competitive Torquay is in this price range this was surprising. I was told they 'don't do' poached eggs, which was a bit suprising. But service was prompt and the coffee good. Breakfast is served 8.15-9.15 which is a bit limiting. One of our party arrived 3 mins late and was refused breakfast.
Overall the Riviera Lodge is efficiently run and an acceptable place to rest and sleep. It's better than a lot of the rather average alternatives locally. The trouble is, in Torquay where there are loads of choices. Given the competition and tough time for hotels, I expected a bit more. A more friendly, personable approach would be a start.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gje99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carsten F, Owner at Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
We are so sorry that you only found your stay with us ‘Acceptable’ as we do try our best to exceed guest’s expectations in any way we can. In the interest of truthfulness and for the benefit of other readers we feel we must comment on one or two of your criticisms.

While we appreciate you did not make this booking yourself, your office did book different room types for different members of your group, ranging from our large Premium Plus rooms to our compact Standard Doubles and sent us a list of names for each room type, your office did allocate you our smallest room type.

I’m sorry our décor was not to your taste as many guest comment on how much they like the choice of colours, styles etc. As you say we are not a Bijou boutique hotel and certainly do not market ourselves as such.

Our breakfast service was indeed from 8.15am to 9.15am, this was made clear both at the time of booking and on check-in. We did start our breakfast service at 8.00am on the morning of your stay at the request of a number of your group. One of your party did arrive for breakfast just before 9.30am and was advised that while we could not offer a full cooked breakfast at that time, they we welcome to have our continental option (croissant’s, bread, cheese, cold meats, yoghurt, cereals, juices, tea or coffee etc.) an offer they very abruptly declined. Therefore your statement that one of your part arrived just 3 minutes after breakfast service had ended and was refused breakfast, is a little disingenuous to say the least.

Nevertheless, again we are sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

It's all about the people who run hotels like this: and these guys really care about giving a great experience to their guests. Nothing too much trouble, friendly without ever being overbearing, and we had some great chats in the bar. All the other guests seemed to be really interesting!

A lovely laid back vibe, great breakfast, and it's almost impossible to write more without sounding like I own the place. Highly recommended - I'd need some persuasion to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Wifi not brilliant in rooms at the back, apparently so be clear when booking if this might be an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carsten F, Owner at Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words we have enjoyed your company very much. We are also in the process to install another router to enable all gusts to have WiFi in there rooms. This has not been easy as this old Victorian building has such thick walls but it should be completed by June 2013. Thanks again Carsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Superb stay in this friendly yet professional hotel. Room and all communal areas were spotless. Food was lovingly prepared. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. I'm coming back with my wife! Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiseOstrich7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were in town for a weekend conference and had decided to make a week of it to spend time and enjoy what Torquay had to offer.
We were made very welcome and our room was clean and tidy with bath/shower. If we were staying for any length of time in our room we would have found it to be on the small side but there was ideal sitting areas and a well stocked bar.
Once the weather improves there will be nice areas to sit beside a lovely pool but this was not to be as the sun had only just come out and the breeze was this on the cool side.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek_snelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Property: Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Address: 26 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• A great breakfast included • Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing