We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal and friendly service”
Review of Al Porto Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Al Porto Cafe Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good meal and friendly service”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Enjoyed a good hearty meal here recently with friends and family. Made to feel very welcome. Food was tasty. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank splewis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    5
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Did the job.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Nipped in the Al Porto at lunch time on a week day. It was very quiet and the staff were attentive to our needs. Ordered a couple of pasta dishes with a glass of wine. A very much average experience with reasonable value for money. Not the most authentic looking Italian but staff did their best to give a good impression.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whiteprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a great sunny evening overlooking the Harbour at Torquay. Topped off by a reasonably priced meal, nicely prepared and served. Not fine dining, but relaxed dining.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank warberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

What a great find on the seafront in Torquay! We had a 2 courses for £9.95 menu which featured a variation of traditional Italian dishes, which we were incredibly impressed with, great tasting food and generous portions, service was attentive and at no point were we left sat waiting for any length of time. Very good value for money, great family atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireyGon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable family meal”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Visited this restaurant quite by chance, just looking for somewhere to eat without a reservation. For a party of 5 we had to add an extra chair to a table for 4 because there were no other bigger tables available but we didn't find we were cramped. The menu is not extensive but all the meals we ordered (4 adult plus 1 from the children's menu) arrived promptly and were very tasty and good sized portions. Service was fine; the only criticism would be that the wine should be uncorked and tasted at the table before serving, rather than just leaving an open bottle on the table. Other than that, no complaints and would visit again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Porto Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing