We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rebooked for next year”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rebooked for next year”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

fantastic family holiday room and food great, activities for kids endless, entertainments team are brilliant, kb sounds great with children nick b and zoe h fantastic singers. special mention for nick darby BALLROOM BLITZ WHAT A DANCER !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyville2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    97
    63
    15
    17
See reviews for
143
84
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Well where do i start...a fantastic place in every way possible..
GREAT..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We have been coming here for four years now and have tried the Carlton, Derwent and the SC apartments. The facilities are great, particularly if you have children. There is always something to do so if the weather is bad, no worries! This is such a lovely part of the country - so many places to visit and things to do and the icing on the cake is a nice hotel. Can't praise this place enough. Lovely rooms, fantastic food, brilliant swimming pools. Staff are really friendly and helpful and very professional.

Room Tip: Carlton has the edge for us but Derwent was nice too. SC apartments basic but good value. All very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in the Derwent for the first time with three boys 6, 4, 2. The only faults are that the Derwent is dated and could do with being re-furbished and when we arrived we had been on a train for seven hours and where told there was a lift to our room but we where not told that there was another flight of stairs after that which there was no lift for, I did complain that we should have been offered help by the porter, I was told by the Spanish lady on reception that I should have asked but as I said how could I ask when I thought the lift took us to our room though Elizabeth on reception was very appologetic and said they would normally offer so if you are staying in a family room you will have a long walk to your room then stairs so get help on arrival. The rest of our stay was great the kids loved it the indoor pool was lovely and ward with jaquzzi, saun and steam room, the games room was great for all ages and the soft play at the back, Mike in games is very helpfull. The kids play park outside is good it is secure so you can sit and relax while they play. The food exceeded our expectations and we are quite fussy we only like home cooked food, there was lots of choice and you are not limited to what you can have, there is baskets of fresh fruit and salad bars. My kids don`t like kids clubs but alot said it was good. When I asked what time the entertainment starts on a night for kids they say 9pm which is late for our little ones but the kids club come up to the Starlight room at 7.45 and something happens then either disco, magician or something until bingo at 8.30 and they don`t have to be in the club to join in this part. We have booked again for next year but we have requested a room at the back as the road sweepers woke us at 5am every morning. You can hire irons and mini fridges. When we booked the train we thought it would be a nightmare but the kids loved it and wanted back on and in Torquay and surrounding area there is so much to do and see with lots of transport I would reccommend the babacombe model village and cliff railway very good. A trip to Brixham is well worth it. The dress code in nthe hotle is quite casual so I would`nt worry about taking too many clothes. A good all round holiday I would say if you want to feel as if you are abroad for a quarter of the cost with lovely food and sites to see with the kids happy all the time this is the holiday.

Room Tip: Get help on arrival for family rooms long walk then stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolee250375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Thanks to all the TLH team for another brilliant holiday.

We stayed at the Toorak again and the staff are so friendly and food really good. A nice relaxing hotel with a nice comfortable bar,with entertainment some nights. We will definitely make a return visit to the Toorak in the future.

The staff in The Victoria were so friendly when we asked if we could view their apartments and interconnecting hotel rooms ,as our son will be wanting a bit more privacy next time we go , and we ended up booking both for next year!

(We also viewed The Carlton Apartments but the staff although OK , weren't as pleasant as the other 3 hotels.)

Zoe and her entertainment team did a brillant job and the nightly entertainment they put on was superb. The TLH Show was really professional and we watched it several times during our 10 night stay.
The Kids/Teens club helped everyone make new friends and our son had a fab time. It was nice to let him wander around the hotel with his new mates both day and night, knowing that he was in a safe environment.

Even though the weather wasn't good, causing some outdoor activities to be cancelled, the time fled by as we enjoyed the indoor pool complex ,complete with sauna, steam room jacuzzi. Then there is the Gym (£4 a day or £15 a week) and the games area which also has a 4 lane Ten-Pin Bowling (and a bar!). Also indoor Bowling Green above it. A Spa & beauty room and also a hairdressers for if you want to be pampered.

With family entertainment taking place both day and night and various different entertainment venues throughout the complex,it is the perfect place to stay in Torquay, whatever the weather. Especially as it's only a few minutes walk to the seafront and the land train also stops right outside.

Another big thank-you to all the staff at TLH and looking forwards to seeing you all again next year :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

just returned from a 2 day break {not long enough) Food exceptional entertainment good and facilities excellent. Our party aged from 7 to 70+ and there was something to interest us all. Very good . See you again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is a review for Alberts Bar, Belgrave Road, which I believe is part of TLH Leisure Resort. Decided to go there as they advertise kids can eat for £1. The bar itself is nice, they play music and have a tv screen where you can watch Sky Sports. We didn't have to wait long for the food, though it was very bland and my daughters' burger in a bun was just a dry burger with nothing on it at all (what we call a "carpet burger"). I had a chicken burger and that was very bland. Even though the kids eat for £1, this is definitely reflected in the quality of the food. Wouldn't go back there again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Abbafan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,810 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing