We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West End Worthy Entertainment!!”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

After staying at the Derwent Hotel, TLH, during the Spooky Spectacular weekend, I must just say the entertainments team show on the Friday evening was FANTASTIC!! As a regular to the West End myself, being local to the area, I would have not of questioned this superb team showif I had of been watching this show on a London stage; with flawless vocals, brilliant choreography and a refreshing energy brought to the stage by this gender and age varied cast. And if the show wasn't enough, they continued the evening with children's entertainment and a disco!!
I want to thank the Entertainments team at TLH for a fantastic evening, we hope to catch your Christmas show this year too!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poda90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed again as we have done many other half term holidays. The self catering appartments are great value, but double glazing would help with sound proofing rather than the sash windows which need updating. The minor changes to Arena Games have really improved things. Alberts bar is great value and the Aztec Bistro has a good feel to it. The only issue is the length of time spent waiting for food in the Aztec Bistro. Fortunately it is worth the wait, but the speed of service needs to be considered. It would also be nice for the receptionist to ask if we enjoyed our stay. We did, but have NEVER been asked.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We are a family of 5 (Children 13, 11 and 1 year old) we had read several of the revues on this page and were looking forward for our vacation.
The first impression of the hotel (Victoria) wasn’t good, the hotel is not maintained, outside the paint is falling off, rust etc… Inside the hotel is clean, but I don’t believe it’s been maintained the last 25 years. The most positive with our stay was the room size, it was big and we had plenty of space.
We had ordered half board (Breakfast and dinner included), for dinner there was a help yourself salad and starter bar, but we only tasted this once as the staff did not come with more food to the salad bar when it was empty.
On the web page there are a nice indoor pool, it is stinking chlorine we had sore eyes long time after we had bathed, there was sand on the bottom of the basin indicating that it has not been cleaned in a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamCarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Went as a group for Xmas period, although big tree in reception & in main hall the rest of the hotel seemed really bare and disappointing (decor in bar was a joke!)
The food was EXCELLENT and service in the restaurant very good indeed.
The entertainment was absolutely awful, a comedian that wasn't funny was about the best of it.
Rooms were outdated, odd furniture, holes in carpet (!), no remote for TV reception weren't interested when we complained-VERY small (they may have been budget rooms so check).
Pool lovely and Games room brilliant!
Very convenient to local attractions
Would not go again for Xmas but would consider going only if in a higher standard room - this would be great for families.

Room Tip: Don't choose the budget type rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

fantastic family holiday room and food great, activities for kids endless, entertainments team are brilliant, kb sounds great with children nick b and zoe h fantastic singers. special mention for nick darby BALLROOM BLITZ WHAT A DANCER !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballyville2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Well where do i start...a fantastic place in every way possible..
GREAT..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We have been coming here for four years now and have tried the Carlton, Derwent and the SC apartments. The facilities are great, particularly if you have children. There is always something to do so if the weather is bad, no worries! This is such a lovely part of the country - so many places to visit and things to do and the icing on the cake is a nice hotel. Can't praise this place enough. Lovely rooms, fantastic food, brilliant swimming pools. Staff are really friendly and helpful and very professional.

Room Tip: Carlton has the edge for us but Derwent was nice too. SC apartments basic but good value. All very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £104 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing