We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool!”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night short break, lovely big family room. Very clean. Great facilities including pool and spa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

just got back from weekend and stayed at the toorak this time which is more expensive than the carlton....really feel this hotel is no better and dont understand how they can charge more the food at the carlton was out of this world we felt the food at the toorak was rushed and not the same quality....our beds were made but there was no coffee or milk left we never had any toiletries in our room i know thats not what you pay for but its basic finishing touches especially when you are paying so much all that said the facilities are great everything under one roof. But wont be staying again

Room Tip: as long as you have roberta cleaning your room you should be fine my daughter had her and she did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that some complimentary items seem to have been missed from your room during your stay. The Toorak food offering is usually regarded as very high quality. We will use your feedback to improve on our dining experience. We have obviously got the service wrong on this occasion as efficiency has come across as rushed and this is not our intention. Again thank you for your review. We do hope you decide to visit our complex again. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We wanted a cheap few nights away over half term with our four year old and picked TLH. We were nicely surprised at how pleasant our stay was! The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The facilities were very good and very convenient. The pools were fun, although by the end of the day the floors could definitely do with a clean! The inclusive dinner was acceptable, definitely plentiful, and our four year old loved getting his own dinner from the children's buffet. The stars of the show have to be the staff - enthusiastic, pleasant, polite, helpful and cheerful without exception. Will definitely consider going back if I am looking for a few days in or around Torquay.

Room Tip: Away from reception or stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to read positive review relating to our customer service. We work very hard to get this right. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have been to this hotel several times now. We have two children aged between 3 and 5 and I love the fact that this hotel allows them to attend their childrens entertainment without us being present during the evenings to give us well needed ADULT TIME. The pools are excellent and food good. Good value all round.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent a weekend at the Toorak. We had a disabled room on the ground floor near the reception. When we saw our room we thought we woulod have no sleep from the guests going back to their rooms but we were woken up more by the staff as their door was almost opposite and they did not seem to realise that talking outside might wake their guests so i would check this if you need a ground floor room. The food for the xmas party was better than last year but the breakfast was a bit hit and miss, poor quality and not always cooked well but there is plenty of cereal and toast etc so you have plenty to eat.All in all this is a large complex of hotels and you have access to all the facilities, the xmas weekends are one of the cheapest so with a good group of people a great weekend.

Room Tip: Watch the disabled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saffery33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our first New Years Eve stay at the Derwent Hotel was incredible. Whilst the room was quite basic it lacked for nothing and was very clean & comfortable. All the staff gave 100% to ensure we enjoyed our visit and nothing seemed too much trouble. The entertainment team gave a remarkable show on the Friday evening which prepared us for the following day & nights activities. The food during our 2 night stay was excellent, especially at this time of year with so many people to cater for. Our compliments to the chef. The reception & 'Starlight Lounge' were beautifully decorated. An amazing atmosphere from start to finish which was enhanced by Zoë and her entertainment team who worked tirelessly throughout the evening keeping all the guests entertained. Also our compliments to the ever energetic Kevin of KB Sounds, a 'D.J.' with a difference. A big thank you to you all, congratulations and well done, cant wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hotel car park and outside pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Mish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Went as part of a larger group on a 4-night ballroom dancing break; stayed in a standard double room in the Victoria part of this complex (last stayed here about 12 years ago).
This was booked through the company operating the dancing - not the hotel; the basis was half-board with dancing every evening (& some mornings if you wanted)
Room was ok - clean enough; a little worn around the edges maybe. Small issue with the heating but this was promptly dealt with by the hotel that day.
Food was good; reasonable choice at breakfast. Our dinner options were choices of a set menu, normally one of 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 desserts plus some vegetarian options. Again food generally good quality & nicely cooked. Would also say the restaurant staff were particularly prompt & helpful.
Considering this is technically a 3-star hotel, that it is a large resort complex & that we were on a break of around 80 people, the hotel coped well although as this is one of the main type of breaks that they offer maybe that shouldn't be a surprise.
The staff particularly are polite, helpful & well-trained.
The ballroom we used - the Warwick - needs some updating. Some of the chairs were ripped & the carpet around the dance floor is in poor condition, as is some of the decorating.
I would say that 3 our of 5 is fair & reasonable for the type of break we were on; if my wife & I were on a small break by ourselves then I guess we would look for a smaller hotel & not this large resort type complex, but of its type - its perfectly ok.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,138 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 86 in Torquay
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 86 in Torquay
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £105 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing