We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

great place lovely staff what more could you wish for been there many times 10/10 .great pool evening was great can't fault it all the staff were great and very helpfull .will go twice this year perhaps three times .

Room Tip: rooms are quieter on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybelly1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    98
    64
    15
    17
See reviews for
147
85
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My family and I love coming to TLH and this was our 4th visit. We stayed in the Carlton Hotel which was as usual, very nice. The facilities at TLH are brilliant. A lot of the complex is based around an Aztec theme, which includes the amazing pools, which I had fun in every time and the lovely aztec bistro, which served delicious food and drinks. The arena games complex was brill. The arcade games were quite cheap to play on and the 10 pin bowling was a good price. The entertainment was good. We really enjoyed doing the quiz and bingo. The evening entertainment was ok, but I think it needs to vary a bit, because they had the same entertainer 3 times during our stay. I had a great holiday again here and will definitely be coming back. To improve though, I think a water slide in the pool may be nice, a bigger variety of entertainment, some new games in Arena Games and better security at entrances to things because it's very easy to get in to things like the pool without being a member or a resident.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cool_as_a_cucumber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We will hopefully be announcing some really exciting news regarding the development of the Arena Games within the next 12 months. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

First came here in 1983 as a child and been coming back time and time again with my own children. Ive seen the facilities grow and grow over the years and my kids love the place and cant wait to come back. The staff are great and very friendly and i cant fault the food at all. The facilities are being improved and updated all the time. (remember the hotels are open all year, give them a chance to improve and update as i guess its pretty hard to do the work whilst still remaining open and not causing sum inconveniance).I cant believe sum of the reviews that people put on this site. What do u people want? End of the day its very family orientated here and if its something more upmarket that u want then my message to you is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulch015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We value all feedback. We are currently redeveloping our central outside areas to include a new children’s play area with landscaped gardens for relaxing and improved access between our hotels. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night short break, lovely big family room. Very clean. Great facilities including pool and spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

just got back from weekend and stayed at the toorak this time which is more expensive than the carlton....really feel this hotel is no better and dont understand how they can charge more the food at the carlton was out of this world we felt the food at the toorak was rushed and not the same quality....our beds were made but there was no coffee or milk left we never had any toiletries in our room i know thats not what you pay for but its basic finishing touches especially when you are paying so much all that said the facilities are great everything under one roof. But wont be staying again

Room Tip: as long as you have roberta cleaning your room you should be fine my daughter had her and she did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that some complimentary items seem to have been missed from your room during your stay. The Toorak food offering is usually regarded as very high quality. We will use your feedback to improve on our dining experience. We have obviously got the service wrong on this occasion as efficiency has come across as rushed and this is not our intention. Again thank you for your review. We do hope you decide to visit our complex again. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We wanted a cheap few nights away over half term with our four year old and picked TLH. We were nicely surprised at how pleasant our stay was! The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The facilities were very good and very convenient. The pools were fun, although by the end of the day the floors could definitely do with a clean! The inclusive dinner was acceptable, definitely plentiful, and our four year old loved getting his own dinner from the children's buffet. The stars of the show have to be the staff - enthusiastic, pleasant, polite, helpful and cheerful without exception. Will definitely consider going back if I am looking for a few days in or around Torquay.

Room Tip: Away from reception or stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to read positive review relating to our customer service. We work very hard to get this right. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have been to this hotel several times now. We have two children aged between 3 and 5 and I love the fact that this hotel allows them to attend their childrens entertainment without us being present during the evenings to give us well needed ADULT TIME. The pools are excellent and food good. Good value all round.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing