We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway!”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very detailed review but worth the effort to write it!
Our party included 2 mum's and 3 children ages 18 months, and the other 2 were aged 5.
July 24th - 27th 2012 the weather was excellent, sunny for all 4 days and not a cloud in the sky!
The cost was excellent value for money. We went for 4 days & 3 nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast option, total cost £370 - £185 per adult and all the kids aged 5 and under were FREE
We booked a family room in the Victoria Hotel and the room consisted of 1 double bed, 1 single bed,1 bunk bed and a travel cot.
The rooms were clean and spacious - only downfall was no air conditioning and the weather was very hot and I struggled because i'm pregnant!
Food was lovely. Served in a big bright ball room, silver service. You had the same table for every sitting so you could turn up at any time and wouldn't wait for a table. Evening meal was 3 courses and the choice of 3 different dishes. Kids could either opt for self service with your typical selection on pasta, curry's, chicken nuggets, pizza ect or they could eat from the adult menu. My 5 year old daughter loved the fresh home-made soup starters from the adult menu! oh and the triple flavoured ice-creams with 2 sauces!
The kids entertainment diary was good - in the Rory Club, 3 times a day there ware activities . We only used the night time session on 2 occasions from 19:45 - 20:30, the children went to Kids club without the adults (so they adults could lay bingo, not that we participated!) they enjoyed their time.
Every evening my daughter enjoyed a dance to the music until 21:00 then they had a show. We seen 2 of the shows, The male entertainers signing songs from musical & bands and then a 3D puppet show, both enjoyed by adults and kids.
The outdoor pool made this resort stand out from the rest!
We were fortunate to have 4 days of sun and the kids loved the warm pool. It was big enough and just the right depth for them to play safely. There was another larger pool but we did not use it, but was full of people enjoying themselves.
I liked the fact that children were still aloud to utilise the outdoor and indoor pools late into the evening with no time restrictions.
Indoor pools were very nice! The children's pool was hot which was great for our 18 month old toddler
The hotel location was perfect! - 10 min's walk to the beach, also walking distance to the town and harbour. We caught the red road train to the town and walked back - easy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatfacerandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    97
    63
    15
    17
See reviews for
143
84
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

had a couple of day at the tlh always a great time rain or shine .the staff are always fantastic lots to do and close to the beach . will go again this year .we try to go 3 or 4 times a year. hell even the staff know me spooky . parking is ok big car parks at the back of hotel . thank you TLH its like coming to see old friends

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jellybelly1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We like to know ours guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a great weekend again this year cannot fault the staff, food and value for money..........fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for posting your review. Kindest regards Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The staff are soooooooo helpful and approachable here, great customer service!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you very much. We really enjoy looking after people. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is fantastic value for money. The rooms are basic however very clean. The hotel facilities are great and my young children love 'Toby club.' we continue to come back to this hotel year after year. Thank you TLH for another great w-end.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards. Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed end of June 2012. First visit for many years and as my cousin lives and works in Torquay decided on a three day visit. Stayed with spouse in an apartment on second floor, the cleanliness and facilities were excellent, felt like a one bedroom flat and not at all cramped, but overlooked the car park and as windows are single glazed bit noisy but parking not a problem. Decor bit dated but they seem to be doing things up (restaurant being redecorated whilst we were there). The Aztec room, indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam room brilliant. Unfortunately we didn't avail ourselves of the entertainment as it appeared to cater only for the older generation (latin/ballroom dancing etc) in fact we are in our forties and felt as though we were in a retirement facility! But this could of been because it was outside school holidays.We did go for a walk round but as there are so many corridors in some instances the signposting was confusing, we had to come out of the hotel to walk round the corner to find Alberts Bar. Overall as we only came to visit a relative and for a short break not for a full-on holiday this was ideal both in location and price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cag231988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your nice review. I will look at the signage you mention. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham,uk
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed here (Derwent) with my family over the jubilee June Bank holiday, very big complex with lots to do and plenty of entertainment.
Plus points being that you are well looked after by the staff if you go on a board basis (we went HB) and we were given the same table throughout and service and food was beyond the 3* rating. The leisure facilities are very good also, great swimming pools inside but I’m guessing the outside pool would be good too (rained so not used). Night entertainment was well above the norm you get abroad and if you didn’t fancy that you could chill out in the other many bars which were karaoke bar to just non entertainment bars. Kids were entertained by the hotel kid’s team and they enjoyed the games room also. If your SC, you can have meals in the hotel complex bars with offers of kids eat free and offer days.
Bad points being were our room was a little outdated and cramped for a family of 4, the bathroom was very small and the floor boards were very creaky and I mean loud. I did stay in the Toorak about 4 years ago and I thought the room was more superior but that was on business (sorry no review but very good stay). Parking isn’t great either, can spend ages looking around hotel but you can use the car park across the road and the hotel will reimburse you. Drinks prices were I thought a tad expensive.
Overall my family enjoyed the stay and my kids loved it for all the things to do, I think the only things that would stop me coming for a summer week break would be weather which is out of their hands. Summer costs for 2ad 2 small children about £1000+ BB for a week but I think you can upgrade to HB for about an extra £150. It’s not too expensive because there are lots to do there and that’s why you pay more than a normal hotel or b&b per night but I do prefer my summer hols abroad.

Room Tip: leave your car if/when you find a parking space in the hotel if you can throughout your stay because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing