We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derwent Hotel”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I went to the Derwent with my daughter for 1 night. The hotel is quite dated in places but our room had been modernised and was very clean. It was very hot and the hotel provided a fan which was good. The indoor pool was amazing and very quiet. The evening entertainment was fun and lively. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a bit of a let down and the coffee was not great but overall for the price we paid it was an entertaining, very typically British seaside Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSanderson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom "appartment" as we wanted flexibility to be self catering. It was more like 2 old hotel rooms that had been turned into a unit with a bathroom you could not seeing a cat in and a small kitchenette with no external windows. The sash windows opened 4 inches and besides that there was no ventilation over a particularly hot period. No vacuum cleaner was supplied and the "appartment" was not serviced. The floorboards creaked beyond an acceptable level. After 3 days of being driven mad by the creaking we asked to be moved. Only one smaller "appartment" was available so we moved. Nicer bathroom but smaller bedroom and less squeaky floorboards. Sash window would not stay open so we asked if it could be repaired. Someone came to look at the window but no one ever turned up to repair it.
On the plus side, the gym facilities were great, did require payment though. The indoor pool is amazing. The Aztec bistro is nice and the chef was very accommodating. Lots of activities for young kids and young teenagers. But the living accommodation was a huge disappointment compared with other proper self catering accommodation we have rented in Torquay in the past. Sadly, I don't think we will be staying here again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippapein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Been going to the TLH for many times. We have not been in a few years so decided to go back as it has always been a good choice. To be fair I was not disappointed the hotel still does what it says on the tin. Food was still good and all in all a good little break.
One thing the Derwent needs to do though is to have a big makeover. Its just looks so dated, old and a bit sorry for its self. Please managers of TLH sort the Derwent out. New carpet and a lick of paint (inside and out) would not go a miss. The only other thing I would have a nag about is the Jacuzzi needs updating. Far to old. On the good side the new Aztec Bistro and patio area is really nice, the new kids outside area really nice to.
I would really like to hear from the TLH managers if they plan on doing up the Derwent anytime soon???

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The first two years at TLH we stayed at the Derwent, as my previous review says it was brill, clean with friendly staff and great food. This year we tried the Carlton, if you have not been before there are four Hotels in a complex and you can use all the facilities. The Carlton is a higher star than the Derwent. We found the Carlton did have slightly nicer decoration but the choice of food for the children in the Derwent is by far better. Although Steve in the Carlton was very accommodating when my little one did not like the choices he made him what he wanted. For the difference in what you pay I if you have children I would say stay in the Derwent. But if you would prefer more modern décor and your kids are fussy then the Carlton. They both have friendly staff and they are both clean, budget also had a lot to do with out choice for next year, when you are there if you pay £10 per adult deposit you get a very cheap deal for the following year. It cost us 890 last year for 5 of us in the Derwent breakfast and evening meal and next year it is 784, I would never be able to get a holiday for 5 including meals with the quality they give and there is so much for the kids to do in and out of the complex, the only thing you can not guarantee is the weather but if it is not good there is still lots to do, again this year they get very upset because they do not want to leave, a fab family holiday that everyone enjoys, thanks again TLH see you next year xx

Room Tip: The family rooms for 5 in the Carlton are down a long corridor and up stairs so if you have any prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolee250375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just stayed a week at the Derwent with our two children. The fourth time in the last ten years. Hotel currently being refurbished which was needed. Food quality and choice is excellent. Pools are excellent apart from a strong smell of urine in the changing rooms for the indoor pool (I did report this twice). Entertainment is outstanding. There is always something to do for both adults and children. The entertainment team for the children are very enthusiastic. There is a well equipped play area for children which is very close to the pool which is very convenient. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are well sound proofed. Alberts - this bar has just been totally refurbished & looks great, with the main meals being just 2 for £12 & kids at just £1 it is great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CARYS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at the Victoria Hotel Torquay which isi part of TLH Leisure Resort Torquay in late June. Although the room had been refurbished it still needed a lot of work. The reception area was sad looking and the food was just about OK. This hotel is in a great location but needs to smarten itself up a lot beefore it warrents a recommendation. Its star rating had dropped between out booking our stay and arriving.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Took my elderly, disabled parents for 5 days together with their elderly friends. Asked for a disabled friendly room. The hotel was better than I expected, as it had only 2 stars. Although a little worn around the edges, it was clean and the staff were very pleasant. Food in the restaurant was mixed. Very good breakfast, evening meal with nice the first night but not great thereafter.
There are great facilities, the pools both inside and outside are lovely. There are lots of options for entertainment, and a couple of the nights were really excellent. The hotel itself is not that disabled friendly. There are a lot of steps and although they provide ramps everywhere, I am glad I wasn't pushing a wheel chair. Also my parents room, although it had a walk in shower, it had a step to get into it and a low toilet, so really was not suitable. Nevertheless we had a very pleasant stay, its in a really good location, just a short walk to the sea front (although down a hill, which means uphill on the way back). One other point, it was very hot in the rooms, there was no aircon, and some of the windows opened only a little way. If you go during a hot period, I would recommend taking a room at the front, because at the back, overlooking the big carpark the sun in on the windows and they are very warm.

Room Tip: No great views from any room really, carpark, garden/pool or road. Rear carpark rooms get very hot d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
622 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £104 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing