We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere with happy friendly staff”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere with happy friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 July 2008

I was in a group of ladies attending a conference in the Riviera Centre in Torquay and we were booked at the Victoria Hotel part of the impressive TLH complex. What a joy. The food was excellent served in a magnificent restaurant and the staff were helpful and cheerful without exception. Some of the rooms were a bit small and dark but all were well equipped with all requirements. Would love to go again sometime soon.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — our room. some were huge but ours was not
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    95
    62
    15
    16
See reviews for
141
83
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Had a weekend stay at the Derwent with our grandchildren and their mum, having looked up the Derwent on the internet and booked by phone through their Central Reservations Office. Doesn't seem to be possible to book on line, for some reason.

First thing you must accept is that the Derwent is only two star rating, and is priced accordingly, so don't go with any high expectations. With this in mind, we were very pleasantly surprised with what we got for our money. Okay, the rooms were small, a bit dated, but clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was also tiny, the washbasin being in the room itself, but it did the job for us.

The facilities in this complex are really great - lovely indoor and outdoor swimming pools, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room (all without extra charge) plus a spa if you want a bit of pampering, though we were disappointed that the spa was not open in the evening. For the kids there was a soft play area and a games room, plus (in season) organised kids' clubs for all ages. Several bars, of course, lounge areas, a huge snooker and Pool zone, four-lane tenpin bowling, evening entertainment and so on.

Food in the restaurant was not bad at all, though the menu was quite limited, and the service was tip-top from the hard-working and cheerful staff in all departments.

We would not hesitate to go back here for another visit. Our two grandsons (3 and 1) had a whale of a time.

  • Liked — Excellent leisure facilities
  • Disliked — Too many stairs without ramps making it difficult to get about with a pushchair or wheelchair
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgio6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We spent a week moving around Devon and came upon the TLH group by accident. We stayed at the Derwent for just a few days and quickly realised this was not the best of the group. However, we had an enjoyable few days and were not displeased by any means. The other hotel facilities were available to us and moving between the venues and car parks was easy even for those of limited mobility. Car parking is extensive and easy, just pop round the front and drop of bags at the lift. Then park at the rear.

Reception staff were varied in their knowledge but we quickly found the right person and got exactly the service we needed. We were aware that a new computer system had been installed when we arrived (might sound small, but must have caused huge difficulties!) and there were the usual expected problems with that. However, it must be said that staff were patient and informative where others might have cracked!

The room was tired but clean and overlooked the main street. The only noise was during the last night when stag and hen parties flooded the town for the weekend. We were told we could bring hot and cold drinks up to the room from the restaurants/bars at the end of the evenings and so we did. However, none of these were cleared from the room during our stay. They were all still there when we checked out. Other than that, we could not fault the housekeeping.

Unfortunately the pool was being prepared for more important customers (families during half term) during our stay and so we could not use it. This was a disappointment but we entertained ourselves watching local ducks and seagulls swimming in it instead. The weather favoured us and there are some very attractive areas for sitting out ... even in the rain there is shelter and good service!

We know others who have stayed here and we are sorry to say that the food was average during our stay. 1970's soluble cauliflower, thin turkey slices and salty gravy. Breakfasts were generally better than dinners but we avoided some items as they were being placed out when we were still eating dinner the previous evening. Coming from a seaside/holiday town ourselves, we guessed that this too was an unusual lapse in preparation for the hectic half term to come.

We booked bed and breakfast with the option of adding dinner and were glad we had. It left us open to sample other restaurants which were much better than the standard restaurant. The bistro meals, for example, were better than the main restaurant in our opinion.

Entertainment was excellent - good variety and varied talent. Like a stationary cruise ship! Even holiday-ing kids were catered for whilst many were still at school!

We could not really fault our stay for the value we got at short notice. Bar and restaurant staff brought our drinks almost before we ordered them ..... and we were only there a few days!

Had we known about the virus outbreak earlier in the year , we probably would not have stayed. I am glad we did not know as it would have starved us of a very enjoyable stay! Visitors should know that there was no sign of any illness when we stayed in May 2008.

  • Liked — Variety of options
  • Disliked — Dining in main dinding room of Derwent
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lindajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2008

I booked a trip down to The Carlton Hotel which is one of four at the TLH Leisure Resort in Torquay for the family during the Easter Holidays.

Having seen the site and been sent a brochure we were all excited about our holiday down to the West Country.

This is a family-friendly hotel, make no mistake. If you have a young family there is bucket loads to do and that is just in the resort itself.

TLH is made up of four hotels and a self-catering block as well.

The staff could not do enough for us, arriving back in The Carlton after an evening at The Derwent we were greeted by the night porter who was friendly and finished the evening off nicely.

If you have children they will love the swimming pools and the play centres - there is plenty to keep the little ones occupied.

In the evening there was entertainment and to be honest we did not even venture into Torquay simply because of the warm atmosphere within TLH.

Our youngest child is 2½ and is a bit of an explorer. The nice things is even in the bars, no one batted an eyelid, in fact they were extremely friendly towards and it immediately put my partner and I at ease.

TLH is a great place, I was dragged into playing Bingo on my last night and went back to my hotel room £370 richer!

The food was good, the breakfasts were excellent and we are already planning another trip down later this year.

A venue cannot please everyone, but I could not fault TLH or any of the staff, from cleaners to entertainment they were all very exceptional.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — Awesome service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Doublehard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Was a bit aprehensive about staying at the hotel after reading some of the reviews. Should not have worried!!!

Travelled with my husband and 2 children aged 9 and 11, even though it was their Easter Holidays, kids in Devon where still at school, so there was no dedicated over 9s club. However, there was plenty for them both to do and they both had a thoroughly fantastic time. The pool is gorgeous, and treat yourself to a trip to the spa - the best one I've been to.

Stayed in the Derwent which is the cheapest hotel and paid for an upgrade to 'Standard Plus'. Room was great, exceptionally clean, very modern with a view to the front.

Food could not have been any better, even for a fussy 9 year old!

Staff could not do enough for us, so all in all had a lovely relaxing holiday, and shall definetly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We stayed in the hotel Easter week. It wasn't to busy and got to use the pool, steam room, jacussi and sauna without any trouble. The hotel is part of a linked group of 4 hotels you can wander through all four choosing which type of entertainment you want, it's mainly dodgy caberet or ballroom dancing.
We had half board, the food wasn't too bad everything was clean and well cooked.
Our room was basic, nice view of the car park, comfortable double bed, and tea/coffee facilities. It was a bit tired but clean. The bathroom was small with a good shower, if your over 10 stone you'll find the toilet cramped, be warned. It was also in 1970's turquise.
Towels were changed daily room was made up by the time we got back from breakfast usually about 9ish.
The car park is passed the hotel heading up the hill first left then 2nd left, you can use any car park in the group though.
All staff were extremely friendly as were the management and couldn't do enough for you, customer service is definitely a priority.
All told we had a great stay and would return, maybe to one of the other hotels in the group. The Derwent is the poor relation but don't let that put you off it's great value for money we paid £108 pp for 3 nights half board. If you want a few stars more for a few hundred try the Belgrave or Grand

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Room was tired
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandNad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Derwent Hotel, Torquay

If you stay here, be aware that the norovirus is running through the hotel, the hotel is not warning you before you turn up. The staff are walking around with masks over their faces, and you will inevitably end up feeling like you are living in an episode of some sci fi series! Half of our party came down with the norovirus, and as most as elderly this is a serious illness. Some just went home as soon as they found out. Beware that the hotel is not warning you until you are booked in - a bit late then. Needless to say, we won't come again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mummy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-GM, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2008
We did have a problem with a 24 hour sickness bug brought into the hotel by a group of bowlers on 24th February.

We closed the Hotel for 3 days to completely get rid of the problem, which was successful, and since the closure we have had no further problem.

This was an airborne virus, confirmed by the EHO, and passed from person to person. We informed everyone of this problem as soon as we knew.

Anyone who knows TLH will know that we put the welfare of our guests first, and scaremongering as in this review, which is factually incorrect does not help the situation, when to no fault of our own we are being critised for a problem that was not of our making.

We are now pleased to say we are full again, operating as normal, and as always making sure that all of our guests are having a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing