We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit to Toorak”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Return visit to Toorak”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

As usual staff were very helpful and friendly. The weather was wet and windy however the lovely thing about tlh whatever the weather there is lots to do. Swimming, steam room and spa made for a lovely afternoon. Terrace rooms to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    97
    64
    15
    17
See reviews for
144
85
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Me, my hubby & 2 teenagers stayed in the Victoria Hotel over Half Term...this was our 3rd stay in the Victoria.
We were happy about the location & cleanliness of our rooms but disappointed by the onsite restaurants ,.Especially the Aztec Bistro...Firstly we had to wait an hour for our food to arrive after ordering...& when it did eventually arrive it was cold & quite tasteless...!!!!...The Bisto was not that busy, so why the long wait & cold food...???...The breakfast was good with lots of choice.
The entertainment was o.k & my children enjoyed the games room.
The location was great for visiting local attractions & close to the beach.
We hope to stay again next year...Maybe in the Toorak Hotel for a change.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottalovetravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Bistro is a very successful part of the business and for the most part they get our food offering and service right. I am sorry that it would appear that we did not meet our usually high standard on this occasion. I have passed on your comments to the relevant people. We hope that you use this facility again and that you find the service and food as it should be. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed in the Derwent the place is in desperate need of a make over we were at a wedding so stayed 2 nights, the room had an extra bed in so we asked if our granddaughter could stay this was agreed for 1 night. When we checked out I had to pay £49.50 this would have been for breakfast as the bed was also used by us so would have had to be changed.I did tell the reception staff I was not happy and would not be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_virtue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your review. The Derwent is in the process of refurbishment at present. In the last 12 months over 60 of our 175 bedrooms have been fully refurbished. This will continue over the coming 12 months. The Derwent is currently a 2* hotel and this is reflected in our room tariff. The amount paid for your room would have included the use of our 5* leisure facilities and nightly entertainment as well as a whole host of other facilities available. We hope that our rooms offer value for money and that you find them clean and tidy. Approximately 70% of our bedrooms are of a 3 star standard. Our rates are per person per night, so the charge you refer to for your granddaughter sharing your room would seem to be correct. We currently have 3 three star hotels on our complex. For shorter stays were the room attribute are most important I would always recommend staying at those. The rooms at the Derwent will eventually all be of 3 star quality, when this is the case we will apply for our next star rating. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Used the swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna last night. The floor in the changing rooms was dirty when we got there. The pool seemed clean enough, but again the floor leading up to the jacuzzi had lots of dirt. The top step coming back down from the jacuzzi was broken & the split tile could have caused someone an injury. Again, same level of hygiene in the sauna. The toilets in this area were disgusting & to be honest I have been in better facilities on the beach! the showers were appalling with rubbish strewn around & one corner had dirt just coming away from the floor, It has really put me off returning. All it takes is a little extra effort to keep things clean.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank roobear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to announce that during the first few months of next year the Mediterranean pool, Jacuzzi and surrounding areas will see some major improvements with the inclusion of a new Jacuzzi. We are reviewing the frequency of cleaning within these areas in general. The truth is that these areas have become so popular that the footfall or amount of people using the area has increased dramatically during this year, especially during the half terms. I would like to assure you that this is an area of focus for us and we will address it moving forward. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Torquay is known for being a UK resort town and it is long in the tooth. TLH is a large complex in the middle of town, it is old and tired and not very clean. Looks like the last time it was decorated was many years ago. The best thing is the location is close to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secretagent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Toorak which is part of the TLH resort for a Dance break. The hotel was fine as usual as we had attended this break many times before. We stayed in the same room as previously, it was ok except the shower and water pressure was hopeless, it could do with de-scaling or a new shower head. The food was excellent during our stay except the chefs could do with lesson in producing Eaton Mess, the meringue and fresh fruit was absent it was more like and was strawberry ice cream. It has a large swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc which is great but could do with a face lift as it is bit run down.
On the whole the hotel and facilities are worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Victoria hotel and I cannot fault it at all. It was fantastic staff excellent room excellent food excellent everything about this place is brilliant. My parents stayed at the derwent and said the same things. Only issue they had Was having a meal at Alberts bar the steak they had was tough so didn't enjoy the meal. Wlll definitely return to tlh. A brilliant place. Very highly recommended. One of the best hotels in the uk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidayer164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing