We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the best hotel you could ever wish to stay in”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #44 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2009

as a young child i stayed at this hotel and now with a young family myself i still find myself returning year after year this accounts to about 20 years! this is due to the excellent, friendly staff (yes tina and julie that includes you!!! he he), quality of service, outstanding facilities. I have stayed in each of the four hotels in my time and all are of the same excellent standard - the Victoria is now my hotel of choice and have stayed there for two weeks every year for the past 8 years! I asked my four kids where do you want to go this year on holiday and suprise surprise the same excited response of THE VICTORIA!!! so we will be headng there on 25th july for a fantastic 2 week holiday - can't wait....

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

From the start of the holiday all the staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortably sized with more than enough storage space, en suite etc. All very nice, cleaned and made up everyday which was good.

Swimming pools were fantastic and can be used as much as you like for nothing, including sauna, jacuzzi steam room etc. Food in the restraunt is generally excellent, waiters are very good.

The location is lovely, with sea views and is only a five minute walk to the town centre, and maybe a 3 minute walk to a beach, however there is a very large park and a golf course that more or less surrounds the hotel and so it's very peaceful.

Overall, very pleased. Going again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuk01204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Currently staying at the Carlton because yet again we could not get the rooms we wanted at the Toorack. For the first three nights everything was fine with the service and food in the resturant then last night everything seemed to go to pot. Very slow service with long waits between courses and the food was of very poor quality compared to previous nights. So unfortuantly it looks as if this will be our last stay at the Carlton..

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gelast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, Carlton General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

We encourage our guests to give us constructive feedback and we listen to what they tell us, in order for us to continually improve and develop the service and facilities we offer our guests.

We aim to provide a good variety of fresh home cooked meals using good quality Westcountry ingredients. We also provide vegetarian options and an A la Carte Steak and Fish menu to meet our guests preferences and dietary requirements. In order to ensure our meals are hot and fresh we plate meals to order, this will take slightly longer to serve than a kitchen that uses a mass catering style. We want our guests to enjoy their food and dining experience, getting this right and meeting their expectations is important to us.

We ask all our guests to fill out comment cards to rate all aspects of their stay, graded from poor to excellent. I am pleased to say that almost 90% of guests currently rate our food service as excellent, which is a great achievement. It reinforces to me that we are getting it right, but when things may not go to plan we always aim to rectify any disappointment caused to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stopped at the TLH in the Carlton Hotel for a family Birthday weekend break. 8 adults, a five year old and a two year old. Brief Summary:
Rooms.
Clean and spacious, we had a sea view. Yes there are stairs but get a grip, its 4 hotels together on a hill! Lifts work too! The bathroom was very clean and had obviously been refurbed. TV, DVD, Coffee making facilities - all great. Service and cleaning great too.
Staff.
All without exception were friendly and very helpful both with us and the children
Food
Evening meals were nice and great quality. Wine and beer was well priced too. 3 courses with olives, dip and bread. The service was incredibly quick even when busy. Breakfast was good, my only complaint was all the black pudding dissappeared very quickly and they struggled at the end of the period (when most people arrived!) Sausages were also very pink when rushed! Still all minor, choice was exceptional. Please, please, please, put on some draft real ales though!
Entertainment.
I cannot comment on this as we entertained ourselves.
Facilities.
The pool was clean and so were the sauna, steamroom etc An extra charge for the gym at £4.00 seemed steep - a weekend option would be good! Kids soft play area very good. Internet access was charged for a 2 hour period - again more options needed! I don't need 2 hours to check e-mails or provide a weekend option. (these are not complaints only suggestions!)


In summary many UK resorts are tired and in need of a touch up. In places I guess these hotels do too, however they surpassed themselves on food quality, service and facilities. Again staff were great (thanks Alan!) If not enough black pudding can be my only complaint over 3 days I would call that pretty good!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

We stayed in the Victoria hotel as part of a dancing weekend break. It was a beginners' ballroom and latin weekend and we had a brilliant time. There are several ballrooms at this hotel complex and we were one of a number of dancing groups stayiing here. The hotel itself is a little dated, however it's inexpensive and the staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. The best feature of the complex for us (apart from the dancing) was the Aztec pool facility which is brilliant. There is a large pool and a smaller leisure pool along with a Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The pool is open from 7am - so perfect for a swim before breakfast!

There is a gym area, but you have to pay for this even if you are a resident which was a little annoying. There is also an indoor bowling green which was always in use when we were there, I think it must be a very popular local facility with lots of clubs using it for competitions etc. There was a children's area which we didn't have any need to go into, but I would imagine this gets very busy in holiday/half term periods.

As a guest of one of the hotels (in this complex of four) you can use all the shared facilities including the entertainment. While we were there there was an Abba Tribute band, a singer and a duo with discos following the acts until midnight.

The food was good but not over-exciting. If you want a vegetarian dinner you need to book this at reception during the day. On the first evening we were there we had to wait a long time for our main course because so many guests had chosen the same menu item which seemed to throw the kitchen into panic. However the staff were very apologetic and the restaurant manager came over and apologised personally and from then on we were treated very well.

Overall it was a very good experience staying here and we've booked up for a follow-up dancing weekend in June.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank I_want_to_go_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We stayed at TLH for 4 nights during the October 2008 half-term holiday, staying at the Victoria Hotel. This was our third stay at the TLH complex.

We has a superior room which was large, comfortable and well equipped. The hotel corridors are well-worn and in need of redecoration, particularly the carpets & stairways.

The complex provides indoors entertainment for a wide age-range of guests. Everything from indoor-bowls, to swimming (no slides or wave-machines etc), a gym and ten-pin bowling. But note that only the swimming is free. Being half-term the complex was very busy, particularly on the stormy days when very few ventured out!

There are very definite signs of cost-cutting in the menu, we had to choose what was in effect a carvery each night, but with waitress service and no queuing. In 4 nights we had just one very nice meal, and 3 very average meals. If we go again we will upgrade to stay at the Toorak, hoping that the food may be more interesting.

Though there were lots of children staying, not many went to the organised Kid's Clubs, much to my daughter's disappointment, perhaps the idea is now a little dated.

Off-season Torquay was quiet but as beautiful as ever, all the beach/tourist shops were closed for the winter. Brixham and Teignmouth are not far and provided interesting walks.

It's odd that the Princess Theatre near the harbour (for which TLH is conveniently placed) always seems to avoid putting on a good show during half-term weeks.

We use TLH for Winter Breaks. All your entertainment is indoors if you wish, but beware everything in the Arena Games area has to be paid for. The pound coins for the air-hockey only last for 10 mins at most.

The standard of the evening entertainment is now so poor that it is to be avoided, take some board games instead. We were convinced that they must have dragged passers-by in from the street and asked them to put on a show!

The range of draught beers in the bars is truly awful fizzy keg, and I could not find a CAMRA pub anywhere within walking distance, so not much holiday cheer for Dad!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

After booking with Grosvenor Hotel (see review) they put is in the Derwent. I was expecting a four star hotel like the Grosvenor and found out at the end of my trip it was a two star. This didn't come as much of a surprise to be honest. The Derwent was a poor substitute for the romantic break my girlfriend and I had planned but it did have some very redeeming features.
The leisure facilities, in particular the indoor heated pools were excellent. One for serious swimmers, or big kids like my girlfriend and I, one for the kiddies and a little toddlers pool. Clean changing rooms and showers and free to use lockers. The buffet-style breakfast was a mixture of the ho-hum ( the tinned plum tomoatos and poor baked beans) to the superb (long, thick, pink back bacon, hand made has browns and a choice of well prepared egg). The provided as much toast, tea, cofee or juice as you like and also fruit, yogurt, cereal and buns. Absolutely brilliant on the whole.
The staff were very friendly, more than happy to help and seemed to be a very happy team. They were efficent and well-prepared.
The room fittings are functional and quite modern. Our room had a modern headboard unit around the bed, a nice walk-in wardrobe and a functional modern looking sink and drawers unit.
Sadly what let's the hotel down is the little things. The bathroom lino was ripped and there was a largish hole beneath. It was outdated and tatty. The carpet was old and matted and the curtains had seen better days. But the BIG BIG problem is the noise. Noise form the floorboards. They creek loudly everywhere in the corridor, the bathroom and the bedroom in every room around us, including ours. This meant there was no way could get an afternoon nap if we were tired and really grated after a while. No chance of peace if you fancied an early night...
The location is handy for the seafront and a nice stroll along the harbour to the town but it is up a little hill. Fine for us but not if you have a buggy or someone is a wheelchair in your party.
After all the areas of recommendation it seems such a shame that the little things let this hotel down because it has everything else to recommend it. Just a little TLC here and there, some new carpets and re-nailing down of the floorboards while they're about it would make this absolutely perfect.
I would consider staying there again if the mood took me.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidenv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#33 of 85 in Torquay
676 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £103 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing