We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - We just didn't want to come home!!!!!”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We arrived to be greeted by the friendliest and most informative receptionists we have ever had.
We originally booked 3 nights in The Derwent hotel,but as the TLH complex was so good we ended up booking another 3 nights in The Toorak and staying for 6 nights in total. We just didn't want to leave then!

The entertainments team worked really hard to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves and our 14yr old son enjoyed the Teens Club. We had to drag him along to the first session as he was worried about meeting new people,but he made some nice friends and went to every one after that .They did Ten Pin Bpwling,Snorkelling,Water Polo, air hockey,basket ball,Pool,Curling and a host of other things.We were able to let him go off around the hotel at other times with a mate that he had made there ,as they had plenty to occupy them without going off the premises.

There were plenty of quizzes and different events taking place throughout the day for adults,teens and kiddies.
We went to The Starlight Lounge, where the main family entertainment was on every night. The entertainment team put on some really good shows and there were also other artists on. Bingo was a popular attraction each night and tickets were cheap,with really good cash prizes. Lots of people went to The Starlight for the bingo before going off to one of the other entertainment venues around the complex.
With quizzes, Line Dancing, Ballroom dancing, race nights , karaoke and a whole lot more going on at each of the hotels there was something for everyone. It was nice to be wander around and visit whichever one took your fancy. Also plenty of quieter areas to sit.

We ate in The Aztec Bar every night and although not cheap (eg. £9.95 for Barbeque smothered chicken,chips & salad),the meals were really well cooked and plenty on the plate.
Drinks available in the bars varied slightly in each one.

Alberts Pub also did nice food at cheaper prices.

A large games room sold drinks and snacks and also had ten pin bowling.

Indoor Bowls room and also a bowls shop.

Tennis Courts and outdoor play area.

The outdoor pool area was nice and I imagine would look really good when the sun came out (unfortunately we had rain for most of our stay). Apparently there is a barbeque and party night outside in that area on Thursday nights but it wasn't on due to the atrocious weather )

The indoor pool area was absolutely unbelievable! With one MASSIVE pool and another smaller pool as well as a sauna, steam room and jaccuzzi we stayed there for 3 hours each day without getting bored. A few days there were organised water polo games .
I don't know how some previous reviewers can say that the area needs updating and complain about no swimming lanes. All the pool areas were cleaned down regularly and there was plenty of space in the big pool,even when it was busy.
The cubicles in the changing rooms were nice and big and the lockers were free. No shower gel provided in the showers,so take your own.

The Gym has a small charge and looked modern,but we didn't have enough spare time to use it. Spa/beauty treatments were at VERY reassonable prices.
There were also excercise classes etc in The Aztec studio but never got around to going.

We stayed in The Derwent for 3 nights which was the liveliest of the 4 hotels and had a couple of coach parties in as well at the time.
Could do with a lick of paint around the place and the carpets were a bit threadbare around the upstairs corridors,with black tape holding some bits together.
Our room (112) was by the lift and stairs so luckily we didn't have the long corridors to navigate. The family bedroom was a decent size and comfortable,but we had the TINIEST BATHROOM you could imagine and the bathroom door wouldn't even open wide as it hit the bath.The sink was in the bedroom as it wouldn't fit into the bathroom (See photo) This was the only thing that spoilt this room.
The breakfast buffet was really good and food fresh and plenty available,with 3 seperate buffet areas within the restaurant,so no massive queues for the food.

We then moved to The Toorak for our last 3 days. What a difference in the rooms.....although more expensive,they were really spacious and lovely bathrooms. (See photos)The Toorak is a more relaxed atmosphere with some nice lounges and bars to relax in and lovely garden area . But it is only a couple of minutes walk along the corridors to the lively part of the complex. We felt so at home here that we could have stayed another week !! The receptionists and other staff were all so friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we couldn't fault anything.
We had a Devon Cream Tea on our last day before departing - Lovely!!!!!!

We are planning a return visit to TLH - staying at The Toorak- and would recommend TLH to everyone looking for a good holiday in Torquay.


A big thanks to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

This is my second buisness visit with collegues from around the UK. Whilst the Dewent is very nice and the staff are great, I must divert some attention to the indoor pool areas which have not improved since my last visit a while back.
First the Jacuzzi/hot tub is old and out dated, floor tiles are missing around the outside rim and a rough edge of fibre glass, not nice for fingers! Several skim grids around the top are missing, same since my last visit! Water is cold, back jets don't fuction and switch is difficult to use. Clearly the jacuzzi needs replacing with a modern up to date one.
The steam room smells of stale sweat inside, not very nice as does the sauna. Most hotels and spas I visit tend to use special fragrances, which is the whole idea of steam/sauna facilities that is not the case here.
The main pool is very good 25Mx 10m ideal for swimming designed in an Aztec/Egyptian theme, however the smaller pool has water jets which do not work neither do the fountains around the pool, this gives the place a run down feel.
Gym is ok although lacking resistance equipment and only one execise bench which people were queueing up to use!
Outdoor pool area is very nice although the cool weather meant only a few dips. Looks like it has been rebuilt and upgraded. Plenty of sun beds so no problem in hot weather.
In all the hotel is very nice food and entertainment superb, but some improvemnts need making with replacing he jacuzzi, impoving steam rooms and sauna which let down and tarnish what could be a very nice spa area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElCowboy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Booked at the last minute so not too sure what to expect but from first dealing with the reservation staff (Leanne) to arriving at the hotel and having a good first impression until leaving 5 days later the whole stay was a pleasurable experience, 2 kids 6 and 11 had a fantastic time, everyone who was there seemed to be having a good time or returning visitors, Aztec spa very good especially if weather poor, same goes for large indoor games area. Evening entertainment was good, Food quality was good, dinner's very nice and cooked breakfast excellent, Rooms spotlessly clean with tv,dvd,kettle, biscuits etc. i couldn't really find fault with anything apart from the odd bit of paintwork needed tidying up (internal doors between floors).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

In the complex there are 4 hotels: derwent 2*, victoria 2*, carlton 3* and the torak 3*.

we arrived at the derwent hotel and the staff was very freindly and welcoming .We checked in to our room and it was modern except the bed covers which were old fashioned an they need to change.The lifts were quite small.

The hotel had a pool for kids and another pool for adults.There was 2 inside pools which was absolutely amazing! They also have a sauna steam room and jacuzzi. They had a arcade bowling bowls internet room hair dresses and a kids club .The restaurant was quite big they had a set menu for every day. Breakfast was buffet style and the dinner menu catered for everyone.However the was NO CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM only strawberry and vanilla and in some cases that not good if you have got kids.

Nearby there was also a fun fair and a 18 hole (i think) pitch and putt golf course.in the evening there was a Team Show from the entertainment team.I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuttycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We had a long weekend at the Toorak. Part of the TLH Group. We found the staff to be friendly and the service evcellent. The restaurant catered really well for my husbands special diet. Will definately visit again as did not have time on a short break to use all the facilities!.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytripper93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed at the Derwent, part of TLH Leisure resort in June and had a really great fun time. Went with another couple and their 2 small children and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. There was loads to do during the day from swimming in probably the best pool we've ever seen in a hotel, lovely sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi and an amazing, relaxing Spa where the girls had a treatment - and what a treat it was!! The outdoor pool terrace was a real suntrap too and whilst the little ones just pottered about in the children's pool the 'boys' played ten pin bowling and then had a round of Pitch and Putt on the local course on he seafront, just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Really enjoyed the food and entertainment in the evening too - great 'Team Show' and Kevin really gets the whole party going. Definitely be back soon - it was such a relief not to be facing an airport!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie-Jane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We arrived saturdaymorning 22nd may 2010. This was our 30th wedding anniversary (we had informed them) and wanted a special break, for 3 days. We stayed in the Carlton and put on floor level 2, great view and small tidy litle room. We were told that there were some organised group bookings for bowling etc, ok that fine no probs. We had our first look through our bedroom window and could see the pool area drained and closed off for new slabs etc, but this was very noisey and dusty. The heat was great for sunbathing but you could not cool off (swim). We then found out that the toorak had also had its pool filled in, so no outdoor pools at the moment. Our first evening meal choices were no great but not 3 star standard. Our first buffet breakfast was fairly good. Day 2 good buffett breakfast evening meals awfull and swimming in grease or hard not fresh beef, most people left food that night (yuk). day 3 no buffet breakfast had to order, What an insult it was a tower of grease swimming mess and the eggs had the biggest frills around them i have ever seen.We were offerd toast, we left the room to complain. This was my wedding anniversary breakfast. We did not know what to do about going in for dinner which had all been paid for, but were told it would be sorted out, so in we went again, the restaurant manager said sorry but that was all we got back . The evening meal was better , but our break was spoiled for me. Not even a good will bottle of wine for our spoiled anniversary.We have had many holidays here, and i trusted TLH to make our anniversary special for me. IE: nice room and good food no more no less.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucygoosy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

The outdoor pools open from the last bank holiday in May and remain open until the end of September. This year over the winter period I am pleased to say that the Aztec outdoor pool has been refurbished and re-tiled and the area will be ready to open this weekend on May 29th.

Unfortunately due to legislation changes enforced by the local council the Toorak outdoor pool has been closed. The pool was there for many years and I am sure it will be missed, however the enforcement gave us a chance to take a fresh look at the area. It is currently being re landscaped into a wonderful secluded garden and the plan is that over the next year or two our gardeners will be able to make the area into an attractive tranquil garden for TLH guests to relax in.

All our guests are asked to complete a feedback form on their stay and I am pleased to say that food quality for breakfast and dinner is currently rated excellent by 89% of our guests. On the rare occasion where breakfast numbers are very low we take orders and have the Full English Breakfast cooked fresh to order from the kitchen This is more sensible than using the hot buffet unit where due to low numbers the food would be left to dry out. I will ensure my Head Chef reads this feedback.

TLH has a commitment to good value, food, facilities and a high standard of service. We are a family owned business, which has been here for 50 years, and our guests are important to us. We listen and ask for their feedback to constantly improve the experience we offer. We never like to read when guests have left unhappy with their stay, especially if it is a special occasion, so I will follow this up personally with the reviewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 86 in Torquay
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £105 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing