We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best cream teas”

Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
Ranked #5 of 28 Coffee & Tea in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best cream teas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We visited several times on our holiday. The scones were large & warm. Served with clotted cream & jame with either tea or coffee.
It was a very clean cafe & toilets were spotless.
i will definately be going back again next year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review we're so glad that you enjoyed visiting us during your holiday in Torquay. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    58
    26
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to relax on the harbourside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Nice little tea room serving a lovely afteroon tea with scenery to match. Decent prices and friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stepphanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review we hope you visit us again soon. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Got to try the Devon Cream Tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Sat outside looking over the harbour on a sunny day, to have my promised Cream Tea. It has to be done in Devon! I was not disappointed. The tea came in a proper teapot, with tea leaves and a strainer, real fine bone china cups and saucers. The scones came on a tiered cake stand with fresh jam and clotted cream, plenty to go with the scones. It was delicious. The only thing that slightly spoiled it was the scones didn't seem as fresh as I would have thought, but still an excellent cream tea presented beautifully, and in a perfect location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abi-Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for writing a review I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and Cream Tea. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just in a few words, lovely cakes and proper leaf tea, traceability of produce and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizHue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Just two words 'Thank You'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
335 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Superb Clotted Cream Teas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was a most friendly little cafe and served the most wonderful Clotted Cream Teas I have ever tasted.

It deserves Iconic status.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stranathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review I'm glad you enjoyed your Devon Cream Tea. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burridge's Cafe Tearooms also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Burridge's Cafe Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing