We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional tea shop !”

Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
Ranked #49 of 357 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Set amongst all the takeaways and chain restaurants on the seafront at a Torquay , is Burridges - a traditional old English tea shop with real friendly service and good food. By far the nicest place to stop off for lunch !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I went today, 4 adults and 2 young children for an afternoon cream tea. The tea room is lovely, it has a comfortable feel to it and the staff are welcoming and I felt my children were just as welcome! The cream tea itself was just sooooo yummy! Scones were a lovely size, could've done with a little more jam & cream, but not a deal breaker!!! Wish we lived nearer!!! :-)

Thank MrsTwithaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review, really glad that you enjoyed your cream tea. I'm so glad that you and your children felt welcome. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Lovely little cafe. Great views sitting outside right by harbour. Cream tea very reasonably priced too, two of us bought a cream tea for one (2 scones) and added a cup of tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a lovely little vintage style cafe! Superb service and at a great price... Brilliant home-made cakes too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZoeFitzsimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for a lovely review. Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Popped in for a spot of lunch while we waited to return to living coast for the penguin feeding! Had an hour or so to kill and was an hour well spent. Both myself and my partner ordered a toasted sandwich which we both thoroughly enjoyed!! They came with tasty home-made coleslaw and a few crisps. After, we decided the cakes looked so good that we would treat ourselves and share the coffee and walnut cake which also did not disappoint. A really large slice too so was perfect to share! We were in Torquay for a one night stay but if we return we will visit again and certainly be recommending friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MelanieMichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review, so glad you enjoyed your lunch hope to see you again. Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burridge's Cafe Tearooms also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Burridge's Cafe Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing