We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Britain!!”
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Court
Ranked #37 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was down in Torquay for my nephew's wedding and stayed at the Carlton Court for 2 nights, right at the end of May with other family members so had the opportunity to see 4 of the rooms. We were all struck at how clean the rooms and bathrooms were. The rooms are very well appointed with comfy seating to watch the modern tv from. Breakfast was superb, very good quality bacon and sausages and everything cooked to order, lovely fresh fruit too if you wanted it. James and Beryl were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Location, excellent as away from the main road, a good 10-12 min walk to the beach but a fantastic opportunity to walk off the very satisfying breakfast! I'm hoping to visit again in August, availability permitting. Thank you so much James and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_light201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful review.It was very kind .We hope you find time to visit again. Thank You ....James & Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

2nd time at the carlton court in under 12 months,and there is no decline in the service or the accommodation.The high standard of service from James and his wife to all detail is very good.the breakfast is one of the best we have had in any hotel .We will be stopping again before the end of the year,would recommend this to any body who likes value an high standards.the hole in the wall and the barn owl are two great places to eat out at booking is recommended

Room Tip: all the rooms are all to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutter05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review.James and Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for two nights whilst attending a conference the rooms are very well appointed and clean and the breakfast choice is varied and delicious, the owners make every effort to make your stay special and they achieve this very well, all in all a great stay and I would recommend Carlton Court without reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Many Thanks for your kind review James&Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stayed here for one night and had a small suite and it was fantastic. Very friendly, clean and comfortable, when you look at some of the tired accommodation in this town i think this was a winner. I would highly recommend this for comfort and value. I shall be staying here again.

If you do stay try the food from Bombay express down the road, i ordered online and had it delivered, it was the most efficient web site, great value and the food was fantastic.

Room Tip: Book room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Many Thanks for your very kind review.We hope you find time to come and visit us again

Thank You .....James & Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of December 2012. The lovely room was tastefully decorated to a high standard, was a good size and everything we could want had been provided. The weekend stay was a restful one and the friendly owners are thoughtful and helpful. Breakfast was a meal to be savoured too! We would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope you visit again

for a longer stay.

Thank you for your kind review.

James&Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Only stayed here for a saturday night. Hotel was very clean and the Large bedroom with nice touches, such as fresh milk in the minibar and a good size bathroom, ensured it 5star atmosphere. It's in a good location about 10 minutes walk inland from the beach, which means you're in a quieter area. Breakfast was excellent and the service friendly. Overall a good value 5 star hotel worthy of its acolades. Our only gripe was that we found the mattress in our room a little soft but that is a personal choice. I'm sure if we were staying longer the owners would have had the opportunity to resolve this. But as we only stayed one night there was little point.
We're back in Torquay end of March and will be booking again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review ,we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

and hope you visit again

Thank You James & Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This B&B has a 5* rating, but deserves a 6*. It is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and in a good position. The owners, Beryl and James can't do enough for you. The breakfast was the best we have had anywhere, including top hotels around the world.

We will certainly be going again.

Room Tip: No tips, all seemed quiet and no complaints from anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Many Thanks for your kind review. We hope you will visit again ,Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#60 of 150 in Torquay
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#12 of 150 in Torquay
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Southbourne Villa
The Southbourne Villa
#79 of 150 in Torquay
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#19 of 150 in Torquay
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#27 of 150 in Torquay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £91 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing