We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST B&B I'VE USED”
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Court
Ranked #42 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I always try to use B&Bs or independent hotels when on business and Carlton Court tops them all. It is located a short 10 minute walk from the harbour in a quiet side street with ample parking. I arrived to find Beryl tending the hanging baskets and James running the reception. I was made to feel very welcome from the very start and after a long trip James recommended a nearby Indian restaurant, Bengal Express, where I later enjoyed a very good curry with a discount by mentioning Carlton Court.
I had booked into the downstairs suite where it was immediately clear that nothing had been spared in making the room as comfortable as possible. Everything was spotless and gleaming and the bathroom especially was finished to a very high standard with a wet room with pumped high pressure shower.
The living area had a leather sofa, TV with free DVDs which led on to an office/dressing area with dresser, fridge and tea making bits and pieces. The bedroom was very comfortable with a second TV and a very comfy bed.
James and Beryl have gone to great efforts to add little touches: A bathrobe should you need it and massive bath sheets, the use of DVDs, a tea pot so you can make a decent pot rather than just a mug, a choice of cup and mugs and wine glasses. They even provided fresh milk which is such a small thing but how often do hotels etc. give you awful plastic milk. If owners don't drink the muck why should guests be expected to. There were even bottles of water nicely chilled in the fridge. For the ladies there is even an illuminated make up mirror and make up wipes.
I didn't have the English breakfast but enjoyed wonderful Parma ham and cheese, not just a couple of slices either. There's a choice of good cereals, fresh not tinned fruit and organic yogurts. James even offered a choice of tea-there's no 'take it or leave it' here. Even such things as the butter were of good quality, yes it's only a small thing but personally I think it's the sum of all the care taken over details that adds up to a very enjoyable stay.
Would I stay again, yes and next time I'd bring the good lady wife as even she deserves to be spoiled once in a while.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManfromBOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Carlton court, the best b&b we have stayed in, after a 7 hour drive we were made extremely welcome by James & Beryl who were exceptional hosts, rooms were immaculate,breakfast was delicious, the location was brilliant just a short walk to Torquay shops & harbour. we would highly recommend Carlton court to any travellers who want that extra touch of class. thanks for a lovely stay Jane Jeffels

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjjeffels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the first moment, we were met with genuine friendliness and made to feel very welcome. The room number 9 was comfortable ,clean , with a king- size bed and bath robes supplied, breakfast is a treat that raises the cliche
"Sets you up for the day". It is difficult to imagine anyone better than Beryl and James at providing honest hospitality.
It is unlikely that I will be in that environ again but I recommend the Carlton Court to all travellers that require cleanliness and courteous efficiency....nuff said!
Danny Thompson

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were made to feel very welcome by James and Beryl. We were in room 9 and it was spacious, clean and comfortable with a nice view of the garden. We would definitely book again as it was pretty good value for money. The location is great and we walked into the harbour with ease. You can apparently get a cab for about £4.00 approx but we enjoyed the walk especially after a nice meal out.
There was a very good breakfast selection and was very well cooked and fresh. Endless tea, coffee, fresh juices, fruit, cereal etc......... I had the smoked salmon on toast and there was a very generous helping of fresh smoked salmon on. I also had the full English breakfast which was nice.
Thank you from Sally and Jeremy Excell

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be nice here. Its a nice sized B&B with not too many rooms like some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was down in Torquay for my nephew's wedding and stayed at the Carlton Court for 2 nights, right at the end of May with other family members so had the opportunity to see 4 of the rooms. We were all struck at how clean the rooms and bathrooms were. The rooms are very well appointed with comfy seating to watch the modern tv from. Breakfast was superb, very good quality bacon and sausages and everything cooked to order, lovely fresh fruit too if you wanted it. James and Beryl were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Location, excellent as away from the main road, a good 10-12 min walk to the beach but a fantastic opportunity to walk off the very satisfying breakfast! I'm hoping to visit again in August, availability permitting. Thank you so much James and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_light201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful review.It was very kind .We hope you find time to visit again. Thank You ....James & Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

2nd time at the carlton court in under 12 months,and there is no decline in the service or the accommodation.The high standard of service from James and his wife to all detail is very good.the breakfast is one of the best we have had in any hotel .We will be stopping again before the end of the year,would recommend this to any body who likes value an high standards.the hole in the wall and the barn owl are two great places to eat out at booking is recommended

Room Tip: all the rooms are all to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutter05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review.James and Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for two nights whilst attending a conference the rooms are very well appointed and clean and the breakfast choice is varied and delicious, the owners make every effort to make your stay special and they achieve this very well, all in all a great stay and I would recommend Carlton Court without reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Many Thanks for your kind review James&Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#59 of 150 in Torquay
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#13 of 150 in Torquay
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Southbourne Villa
The Southbourne Villa
#79 of 150 in Torquay
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#20 of 150 in Torquay
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#26 of 150 in Torquay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £91 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing