We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Court
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$128
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$173
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
248
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfresh milkparma ham and cheesefridge with bottled waterdressing gownswet roomexcellent guest housefull englishfirst classnothing is too much troublefeel so welcomeperfect hostsbreakfast was delicioushuge bedroom was beautifully decoratedcooked to perfectionbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having been travelling to Torquay since I was a babe in arms some 40 years ago I can safely say this was the best hotel we have had the pleasure to stay in. We booked a one night stay on a rare child free night as a bit of a treat to ourselves and we weren't disappointed. We booked the suite (room 2, I think) and were overwhelmed by the attention to detail and the high specification of the suite. The hosts Beryl and James were very welcoming and happy to answer all questions and offer advice, James even offered us a lift into town but we preferred the 10 minute walk in as it was a lovely route. Breakfast was lovely and cooked fresh to order, far better than your usual hotel buffet. We will definitely be returning to Carlton Court as it was a relaxing visit from start to finish. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the suite (room 2), but on looking at the brochure all rooms looked beautiful. The hotel is on a quiet road, so no noise at night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumandfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carlton Court recently for 5 nights, commencing 6th October. It was a very relaxing break with what turned out to be wonderful weather for the time of year. We looked long and hard at the various b and b's/hotels on offer and our experience shows we made the right choice.
James and Beryl were very good hosts and offered helpful advice re. local restaurants etc. The room was great, we selected suite 2 on the ground floor. Everything you could possibly need was there, separate bedroom, dressing room, lounge area and ensuite bathroom, also two flat screen TV's with combined DVD players and a selection of films. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choices and a lovely view of the garden from the panoramic window. Well located in a residential, quiet area about 10-15 mins walk into centre of town, although there are restaurants/pubs etc within 5 mins walk. Parking on site and offroad. The information by post when original booking made was also quite informative. All in all an excellent b and b.

Room Tip: suite 2 was excellent, on ground floor and very well appointed.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howzatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

James and Beryl are the most wonderful hosts, and really go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. The furnishings and decorations are very individual and everything is done to a high standard. Clearly a huge amount of thought has gone into what is needed to make guests comfortable. The breakfasts are very high quality with a lovely selection of fruit and serials followed by individually cooked hot food.

Room Tip: We had a "suite" with a separate seating area, which was lovely and very good value.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyfulEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed 22nd to 25th August 2013 two rooms one being a suite. Great hotel Beryl and James make you fell so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Great rooms. Superb breakfast spoilt for choice. Would stay again and highly recommend. If staying in Torquay you have to stay here.

Room Tip: rooms 2 and 4
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickysNursery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I had never been to Torquay, so we set about finding a hotel, all hotel results were not that glowing so looked at B&B so glad we did the Carlton Court is everything everybody says about it. Beryl & James make you feel at home, breakfast is a very special time as it is beautifully prepared and served, out room with separate seating area with TV bedroom, massive bed also with TV and well appointed bathroom, we will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews