We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word, amazing!”
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Court
Ranked #39 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
1 review
“One word, amazing!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is the best hotel/B&B I have ever stayed in. The rooms are lovely and have everything you need, the breakfast is wonderful, always filled you up until dinner time. The owners, James and Beryl are very welcoming, helpful and cannot do enough for you. Can't wait to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John09webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
184
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed three nights in of the best hotels we have stayed in. The cleanliness is second to none and the quality of the room/Hotel was superb. We were made to feel so welcome, the suite we stayed in was so nice we wish we could of stayed there longer. I would definitely recommend a stay there and will go back again. Their attention to detail was fabulous and also it is situated in a quiet yet ideal location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Me & my hubby stayed for two lovely nights and we had a great time best b&b we have stayed in nice welcome and real milk in our room which was great, breakfast was really nice with lots of fresh fruit and fresh ingredients we will be going back very soon beryl and james should be very proud of there b&b as its a stunning place to stay.we will be back soon

Room Tip: We were in room 4 which had lovely garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having been travelling to Torquay since I was a babe in arms some 40 years ago I can safely say this was the best hotel we have had the pleasure to stay in. We booked a one night stay on a rare child free night as a bit of a treat to ourselves and we weren't disappointed. We booked the suite (room 2, I think) and were overwhelmed by the attention to detail and the high specification of the suite. The hosts Beryl and James were very welcoming and happy to answer all questions and offer advice, James even offered us a lift into town but we preferred the 10 minute walk in as it was a lovely route. Breakfast was lovely and cooked fresh to order, far better than your usual hotel buffet. We will definitely be returning to Carlton Court as it was a relaxing visit from start to finish. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the suite (room 2), but on looking at the brochure all rooms looked beautiful. The hotel is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumandfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carlton Court recently for 5 nights, commencing 6th October. It was a very relaxing break with what turned out to be wonderful weather for the time of year. We looked long and hard at the various b and b's/hotels on offer and our experience shows we made the right choice.
James and Beryl were very good hosts and offered helpful advice re. local restaurants etc. The room was great, we selected suite 2 on the ground floor. Everything you could possibly need was there, separate bedroom, dressing room, lounge area and ensuite bathroom, also two flat screen TV's with combined DVD players and a selection of films. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choices and a lovely view of the garden from the panoramic window. Well located in a residential, quiet area about 10-15 mins walk into centre of town, although there are restaurants/pubs etc within 5 mins walk. Parking on site and offroad. The information by post when original booking made was also quite informative. All in all an excellent b and b.

Room Tip: suite 2 was excellent, on ground floor and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howzatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cam, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

James and Beryl are the most wonderful hosts, and really go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. The furnishings and decorations are very individual and everything is done to a high standard. Clearly a huge amount of thought has gone into what is needed to make guests comfortable. The breakfasts are very high quality with a lovely selection of fruit and serials followed by individually cooked hot food.

Room Tip: We had a "suite" with a separate seating area, which was lovely and very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed 22nd to 25th August 2013 two rooms one being a suite. Great hotel Beryl and James make you fell so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Great rooms. Superb breakfast spoilt for choice. Would stay again and highly recommend. If staying in Torquay you have to stay here.

Room Tip: rooms 2 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickysNursery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#42 of 87 in Torquay
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#21 of 149 in Torquay
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#14 of 149 in Torquay
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Property: Carlton Court
Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing