We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Court
Ranked #36 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is the best guest house that we have ever stayed at, the owners could not have been more helpful and friendly but still offering an excellent level of service nothing was to much trouble for them to ensure that we had a relaxing holiday.
Being disabled and in a wheelchair the room we had was adjacent to the dining room and was fully equipped with a wet room and adapted W.C which made the stay very easy and enjoyable.
I would recommend the Carlton Court to anyone wishing to enjoy a very pleasing holiday.

Paul Dixon

Room Tip: We had room 2 which has a wet room suitable for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
179
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Carlton Court for 2 nights. It is a lovely B&B, the room was spacious and spotless, the breakfasts were delicious and James was an excellent host.

The
Ovation of the B&B is also good, less than a 15 minute into central Torquay but situated away from the hubbub of the seafront.

There is absolutely nothing to draw fault to and we would happily return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 9- this was spacious with a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Traveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We found the carlton court by chance through booking.com and it is a real gem, can't fault it in any way and hope to go back in the future. The carlton court is classified as a 5 star and a 5 star it is. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou-C-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Carlton Court Guest House if I could rate it a 10 I would. Perfect hosts in James & Beryl, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. The rooms are beautiful, they all big and luxurious. Lovely toiletries. The breakfast is beautifully cooked and plentiful. The town is a 15 minute walk away. I will definitely be returning to James & Beryl when visiting Torquay I have found my No1 guest house.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place lived up to the reviews and I would rate everything as perfect. If you stay there go and visit the garden, which is a gem. We had excellent help in finding a restaurant and booking a taxi.
James - why not have real plants in the reception area?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janet349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am puzzled by your remark about plants in reception. All our plants are real,but with decorative glass balls on top of the earth..Hope you find time to visit again Thnk You. .........James & Beryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our second visit at this very calming hotel....we loved the room first time so re-booked it for second visit, James and beryl made every effort to make it an enjoyable stay, even got a birthday card at breakfast, have re-booked however I will not disclose the room number ha

Room Tip: All rooms have a certain attained magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights. Breakfast was fantastic, with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, and of course the full English. James & Beryl made us feel very welcome, and did not hesitate in recommending places in the area to visit. On one rainy evening, we were just going out for a meal, which was only a 15 minute walk away. Without hesitation, James offered to drive us to the restaurant. What a host! We have already booked to come back again in a few weeks. Thank you James & Beryl!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robbo1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#22 of 149 in Torquay
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#29 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#24 of 149 in Torquay
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#23 of 149 in Torquay
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#14 of 149 in Torquay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Property: Carlton Court
Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing