We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
399
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams lemon curd warm welcome torre abbey b and b full english brilliant breakfast kippers every morning home from home friendly hosts family room fresh fruit salad cup of tea on arrival feel so welcome other guests
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful short break at the Glendower. The rooms were spotless and well decorated, bathrooms modern and well equipped and the beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with a good choice of cereal, fruit and cooked food. The eggs Glendower were gorgeous. Perfectly located for the town, harbour and beaches we were able to park the car and stroll to wherever we fancied. All of this coupled with owners for whom nothing was too much trouble made this a favourite that we shall definitely visit again and again.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineJMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

What a brilliant review, thank you Catherine.
It's the wonderful comments like yours and the many others since we've been here that helps other travellers get some idea of what they can expect at the Glendower. Lets hope we don't run out of energy before the season finishes.
Hope to see you all again soon.
Best regards and thanks again.
Bob, Lesley & Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Bob, Lesley & Carla couldnt be better hosts. Everything you would wish for in this 4 star b&b. Room was lovely, clean and welcoming with all the facilities you require. Breakfast was excellent, fresh good quality food and efficient service.
I would recommend the Glendower to anyone looking for a good value, friendly place to stay.

Room tip: Room 17 is very quiet but all rooms are to a high standard.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaRoyCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Fantastic place, thank you and thank you for a fantastic review.
We hope we will see you for next years show but in the meantime, good luck with the house and we hope all goes well with the move.
Thanks again.
Bob, Lesley & Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Thank you so much for a very relaxing stay. Bob, Lesley and Carla made our first time to Torquay very welcoming. The rooms are really comfortable and the cooked breakfast are thoroughly recommended. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts so based on that we would encourage anybody to stay at the Glendower.

Thank you again and we hope to come back in the near future.

Steve and Tracey

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S_Dog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Thanks Steve & Tracey for your review. Glad we helped make your first visit to Torquay a good one and that you took back to Hull some lasting memories of a great break.
Hope to see you both again soon.
BL&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This was our first stay since the Glendower changed hands and we had a fantastic time. We received wonderful service and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was tip top. The policy of now accepting dogs was especially welcome as until now we've had to leave ours in kennels which he hates. Lovely stay and will be returning as soon as we can. Thoroughly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mootiemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

It's a long way from Sheffield so we're glad you had a good time for your third visit, first with us. So glad we have been able to keep up the standards set by Peter & Jacky for the last 20 years, they did a great job and we are really enjoying raising the bar even further.
It's comments like yours and all the others that tell us we are doing ok as newbies so many thanks for that.
Hope to see you again soon.
All the best.
BL&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Thank you for a wonderful six days .
Bob Lesley & Carla were most welcoming and very attentive throughout our stay.
Our room was exceptional spotlessly clean with all mod cons and were even provided with fresh milk every day.
Our breakfast was cooked to a high standard and Bryn enjoyed the berries from the garden each morning with his breakfast.
Well worth a visit we will be recommending to friends and family once again thank you all so much for everything and more.

Room tip: Book the premium room . Room 8 was fab.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brynthomas-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Hi Bryn & Andrea
glad you enjoyed room 8 and thanks for the clean comments, nice to know that people notice.
We were recently inspected by Visit Englands assessor who actually gave us 100% for clenliness, that cost me a meal out for my wonderful wife & daughter as it's all down to them for getting such a good score.
Hope to see you again soon, we are open all year if you fancy a nice weekend away.
Thanks again.
Bob, Lesley & Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews