We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”
Review of Hotel Peppers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Peppers
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here for one night. Excellent time...........comfortable bed, superb breakfast, close to harbour and the owners ever so helpful and polite.Could not have asked for more and with the good room value thrown in our short stay was just right. Don't be put off by the Ten Pin Bowling alley just opposite.......our sleep was not disturbed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandaleous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    54
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
188
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for one week at the end of July. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating, more than helpfull. The hotel was spottlessly clean. We had a double room which had ample room to meet our needs. Nice touches of bottled water and biscuits, refilled daily. We both slept really well, bed very comfy.the breakfasts were a great start to our day, plentiful and with lots of choice, we can definitely reccommend the full English breakfast. It's just a stones throw from harbour front.
Overall we had a great stay, the hotel was much better than we expected for e price we paid, which was more than reasonable. We would definately reccommend hotel peppers to all and have made note in our address book for our next trip to Torquay. X

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

First of all i do not normally give my travel comments this is a first!!! we stayed at peppers for only 1 night as they were fully booked, the greeting was very good, the hotel (B&B) is totally immaculate,a comfortable bed ,a very good breakfast . we were very impressed, we normally stay in 4 star plus hotels.
I fully recommend peppers and praise the owners for their hard work in keeping the upkeep to high standards. and low accommodation costs.
David & Sheena (Essex)

Room Tip: ask for the suit it has a super king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

very nice B&B with friendly staff. Good English breakfast or just Müsli. Room was clean. Location is perfect, but try to get an off-street room for the weekend. Room to the street very noisy during party hours (11pm - 2am).
Bathroom small, but functional.

Room Tip: see above, avoid street facing rooms if you travel on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAECH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the peppers. The hotel is very clean, welcoming and in an ideal location, just a 5 minute walk to the water front. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that will take you to Teignmouth and Dawlish Warren plus other places. Restaurants are in abundance and cater for all budgets. The local Wetherspoons was pleasant and cheap 2 steaks and a bottle of red for £18.00!!!
The room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel, room number 5, a comfortable very clean room with a double bed and en-suite. Parking is limited and tight BUT the owner has other reserved parking around the corner for guests. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice. Viv the owner alongside Gary were very accommodating, Viv went out of her way to make sure everyone had a good stay, she recommended a lovely pebbly beach to us and we had a fab day there it was called Meadfoot Beach beautiful and quiet with a cafe on sight for a light lunch, really scenic. Overall an enjoyable stay at a very good B&B in a good location, we will definitely return Thanks for a lovely stay sad to be home!!!

Room Tip: room 5 was at the back of the hotel so quiet (except for the seagulls which cant be helped)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ussmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Peppers for one night on a Devon trip. We booked it due to previous good ratings on Tripadvisor and its proximity to the sea – just a five minute walk down the hill. It started badly with the hotel-owner being extremely grumpy and unfriendly. I understand that perhaps everyone has a bad day but when you’re welcoming someone to a hotel you need to think about first impressions. After telling us that we had to pay on arrival rather than departure (we had already secured the reservation by credit card on booking) as he’d had experience of people leaving without paying we then spent some time waiting for him to work out how to use the credit card machine. After a lengthily check-in he showed us to the room. It was a relatively cheap booking but the room was tiny. A double bed fitted in the room and not much else. They had tried to make it nice with some bottled water and decent curtains. The bathroom was a converted alcove and cupboard so you could scarcely turn around in the shower. We spent the rest of the time out and about in Torquay having a great time so only really returned to the hotel to sleep – I wouldn’t have wanted to spend much time there. In the morning a good full English breakfast was served by the other owner who was delightful and extremely friendly in contrast to the welcome we’d had the previous day from her husband. Nothing was too much trouble. I think it’s potluck on your experience with this hotel depending on who is on duty when you arrive. Overall, Hotel Peppers is a budget hotel and therefore does not have the space or luxuries that come at a price but unfortunately the service and welcome is not guaranteed and therefore I would look for other options in Torquay.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room at the back - the owner told us as we were checking in that it was his sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay at Hotel Peppers . On arrival Gary was very welcoming and showed us to our room. Very tidy with complimentary bottles of water. Bed was very comfortable and en suite a decent size . Location is 5 minute walk from the town centre . Breakfast the next morning was fantastic and viv was very helpful. We would defiantly be returning in the future !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JussyDank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#37 of 87 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#4 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 87 in Torquay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peppers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peppers

Property: Hotel Peppers
Address: 551 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#37 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Peppers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Peppers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Hotel Torquay
Hotel Peppers Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing