We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant do enough for you!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cant do enough for you!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed in this lovely hotel for 6 days,My son and i were staying in torquay for the football and i chose to stay on to see some sites.I can honestly say that graham and judith are brilliant,they tell you where to go for beaches and loads of attractions and will do anything to help.The room was on the top floor which was fine for us and had a mini fridge,loads of tea,coffee,sugar etc. The beds were extremely comfortable.The shower was amazing and there are games,books and dvds around to borrow which was a lovely touch. The breakfast choice is VAST!! So much choice u could be sat there for an hour! Im hoping to go back to Torquay and when i do i will definatley choosing palms hotel as its a real home from home..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjswombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    38
    11
    0
    6
See reviews for
29
96
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Palms Hotel during our recent trip through England. We were welcomed by our charming hosts and taken to the top-floor room with two twin beds. The room and bathroom were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Since it was extremely hot that day, we were afraid that we would not be able to sleep. There was, however, a nice cool breeze. The breakfast was very good, traditional English, and cooked to order. The hotel is perfectly located for discovering the town, and the harbour area. We had free and safe parking nearby. This hotel is well worth its value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This attractive hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Torquay shops and harbour. The 2 ownners Judith and Graham were very welcoming and made us feel at home. Our room though small had everything we needed including a little fridge. The power shower was fantastic!! Breakfast was well presented and was delicious. The hotel was very homely and comfortable and we didnt want to go home! We shall go again.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms have a good view of the gardens but a bit noisy from the road at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Placed within a two min walk from Torquay centre, this family hotel is packed with charm. You step into another decade. Nice, friendly staff. Breakfast served in a small room - with radio BBC2 ("only ch that doesn't offend anyone":) on..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EivindLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

we just come back from there we had a good time .it was raining but then the sun come out .it we lush and your not far from the shops beach ect I would say its one of the best places we stayed .and we would go back again the room was very nice .too and the food was cooked nice and hot and as for Judith oh my good she nice lady and her hubby is to all ways had time to chat .and give you help were to go .thank you guys hope to see you again xxxxx

Room Tip: abit of hill bit keeps you fit ;]
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I think that anyone giving this hotel a bad review must have something clearly wrong with them. My wife, Kimberly and I were greeted by our lovely hosts after a long drive from Scotland. We originally tried to book through laterooms.com but that proved more trouble than it was worth so we phoned the palms directly and were given £20 off straight away. As we were honeymooners our lovely hosts said that they would give us the 4 poster bedroom but it was booked on our first night but we could have it on nights 2 and 3. We were going to wait for the other guests to check out to move our bags but the owners wouldn't hear of it and said that our day should not be put on hold and to go out and enjoy ourselves and they would have the room ready and move our bags for when we return :-)
The breakfasts could beat any 5 star hotel I've stayed in and there is a huge choice on offer :-)
The bedrooms were outstanding and we stayed in 2 different rooms. The location of the hotel perfect only 2 minutes walk from the harbour/marina.
In short, The Palms Hotel is the ONLY place to stay in Torquay.
The owners even left a wee wedding card for us in our room one day :-)
Thank you for a lovely honeymoon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevinfinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

me and my boyfriend stayed here over the Easter holidays for a week and we received excellent service from the owners. they were always friendly and helpful and chatted to us about our day when we saw them. the only thing i would say it that our bedroom which was on the top floor got a bit cold and we had the radiator on full all the time we were in our room, it was due to the single glazing windows, which we heard another family talking to the owners of the hotel and they said that there was nothing they could do about the windows as they were not granted planning permission for the change of windows. everything else about the hotel was fab and if i was planning to go back to torquay i would definitely stay there againn

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanned95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#41 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: 537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Palms Hotel Torquay in South Devon - truly a "once discovered, never forgotten" place to stay. A delightful retreat where the warmth and friendliness of hosts Graham and Judith is always apparent.Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you will not be made to feel welcome. The Palms Hotel is one of Torquay's top Guest Houses in the heart of Torquay we give the Service of a Small Hotel and the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Torquay
The Palms Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing