We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY NICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tusker Lodge Guest House
Ranked #43 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“REALLY NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

To be honest I stayed here as my usual guest house in Paignton was full and I was apprehensive about going elsewhere. . why did i worry..Staying here was great. Off st parking.nice attentative host. . Great wifi. Lovely room.soundproof windows..comfy bed. Breakfast was well cooked and large. Really enjoyed it .close to Torquay. Definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KevByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    54
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
144
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

How this hotel got the stars it has I don't know. The room is tiny and dated. The bathroom was awful. There was a cigarette butt on top of the wardrobe and sweet wrappers. Obviously not cleaned tidy! The breakfast room wasn't open at the times we were told. Only two choices for breakfast! I won't be recommending or revisiting this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Over the last 36 years I am frequently using hotels and guest houses as I travel throughout the country in business and this is the best and most reasonable one that I have come across. The breakfast is excellent; the rooms comfortable and the care and attention given by the owner is first class. It truly is a bargain and I would certainly stay there again and recommend to anyone - well done, you deserve every success for the hard work you have put into making it the wonderful place that it is. - Yan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hosts friendly and helpful, our double bedroom cosy and clean ( as was the rest of the complex), breakfast serves delicious and generous, our bedroom overlooked a spacious and picturesque park. Great central location to town centre. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlayneB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for one night.. We found the room to be clean and tidy, The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was good and with plenty of choice.. We stayed in a small double room which was en-suite which overlooked the park..The guest house has been recently taken over by different people and they are in the throws of doing it up. So It would unfair of me to make any comment about the decor .All in all I found it to be a pleasant and enjoyable stay..

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a room here and tried our very best to get there in time. But how could we know that the ferry from Torpoint was on strike that very day? On top of that my phone was out of charge, so I could not call Tusker Lodge and tell them. I call that force majeure.
But there was nothing to do. After a tough driving over Dartmoor we arrived at 8 p.m. in stead of 7 p.m. and tried for over half an hour to get in touch with anyone at the lodge. No luck - we even borrowed a phone and tried to call the number, but no answer. We had to book the place next door because I was exhausted and could go no further. I was travelling with my big boy, and I am the only driver. Next morning I tried to talk to the owner, but she hardly listened to me. There was no understanding from her.
We will never go to Torquay again. Worst experience ever in England.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank birengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole C, Owner at Tusker Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I am sorry that you feel that you had such a bad experience in Torquay, I hope that you can learn from your experience how very important it is to be prepared and organised when travelling abroad, for instance checking that ferries are running and ensuring that you have means of contacting people. Our check in times are clearly stated, I had already waited 45 minutes past last check in to see if you arrived late, on your booking form you said that you would be here between 5pm and 6pm. We are a family run business and cannot be on the premises 24/7. Your comment that I hardly listened to you is unfair, the fact is, what could I do? You were asking me for a refund, should my business also suffer because people do not plan their journeys? As I explained, I could have let the room to someone else had I known that you would not show up during the allotted check in times. I also recommended you to contact your travel insurance company for compensation.
I did look for a missed call from you and I noticed that there was a call from a Danish telephone number at around the time that you said you were here, a coincidence or actually your sons phone that I have him on camera using while you were sat out the front of the hotel? In which case could you not have borrowed your sons phone to call me to let me know you would be late I could then have made arrangements to let you in after check in closed. Alternatively, a pay phone would have done the job just as well. I am extremely lenient with guests checking in early or late.... provided they let me know in advance!!! I actually had a guest check in at 12:30am on Saturday morning as she had arranged this with me and called to update me of any changes to her travel plans.
In short, you have given our guest house a terrible review (extremely damaging to a small business such as ourselves) for a problem that was of your own making… I would give you a similar, if not worse, score for your organisational skills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just stayed at this hotel, found the room to be clean and tidy, staff were great as was the breakfast, the hotel is situated close to the town centre which was also a big plus, well worth a visit will book again when in the area

Room Tip: Stayed in room 11 which is small but Very functional .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rob1obe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hudson Hotel
Hudson Hotel
#62 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tusker Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tusker Lodge Guest House

Property: Tusker Lodge Guest House
Address: Guest House 533 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England (Formerly Sceptre Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tusker Lodge Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tusker Lodge is a small family run guest house, offering guests a friendly and informal atmosphere. The guest house is in a superb location, with a south east facing sun-terrace overlooking Torwood Gardens and boasts free Wi-Fi and ample free parking. Tusker Lodge is only 400 meters from the harbour, the strand, shops and close to the beach and seafront. The Princess Theatre is a 15 minute walk away. Also within walking distance is the coastal path, which leads to Beacon Cove, Meadfoot, Hope Cove, Ansteys Cove, Babbacombe Beach and Oddicombe Beach. Torquay Museum is almost adjacent to the hotel and Torbay's famous Model Village is at the other end of Babbacombe Road, just a short bus ride away. Rooms are traditionally furnished, and each benefits from Freeview TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi. All doubles have an en suite bathroom with free toiletries, singles have shared bathroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tusker Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tusker Lodge Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing